OlympicVillage Live Blog: Day 10

We're taking you behind-the-scenes in real time with iVillage chief correspondent Kelly Wallace as she reports on the 2012 Summer Olympics on the ground in London

Sunday, 3:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. London -- Celebrating Dads Too!

We've been focusing a lot on the moms of U.S. athletes, but we shouldn't forget the dads. Tonight at the P&G Family Home, dads of Team USA were saluted with a guest appearance by Tyson Chandler, the center for Team USA basketball and a father of three. Chandler, who I didn't realize now plays for the New York Knicks, talked about how his grandfather helped him become the man he is today. After that, all the Olympians in the room and their dads came up to take a picture with the star, while the moms got to work taking pictures for the scrapbooks. Tomorrow, Chandler and his teammates take on Argentina.

Sunday, 1:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. London -- "It's Brilliant"

After a bit of a walk and a 20 minute wait in the security line, I made it inside Hyde Park, which with its food booths, games for the kids and bands seems like a giant fair or outdoor concert.  I met Londoner Joanne Peplow and a friend (pictured), who had flags of Great Britain wrapped around their shoulders and declared Andy Murray's gold medal win "brilliant." The Games are bringing this country together, they said. "Everybody is walking around with something GB (Great Britain), something Union Jack (the British flag) on at the moment and you're just like, if you've not got it on, where are you from then, you can't be from Great Britain if you're not wearing something that's got GB on it," she said.

Sunday, 11:00 a.m. ET/4:00 p.m. London -- Andy Murray Does It!

When Andy Murray defeated Roger Federer in straight sets for the Olympic gold medal, people applauded at the P&G Family Home and I tweeted that this country is going to go wild. A day earlier was the best Olympics day for Great Britain in 100 years, with the country winning six gold medals. Now another huge medal at the most storied of locations -- Wimbledon. I decided to head to Hyde Park, one of the free locations where Londoners are watching all the action on giant screens to get some reaction.

Sunday, 10:45 a.m. ET/3:45 p.m. London -- McKayla Gets the Silver

I admit I totally missed McKayla Maroney competing in the women's gymnastics vault final. I was filing a story and then when I arrived at the P&G Family Home, the event wasn't on any of the televisions. On Twitter, I saw she got the silver, which meant something went wrong since she is viewed as the best vaulter in the world. Later I read she fell during the landing of her second vault. She tweeted, "Disappointed on how today turned out, but everything happens for a reason!! #noregrets.. Plus, the silver medal is actually pretty sick!!"

Sunday, 8:00 a.m. ET/1:00 p.m. London -- Ryan Lochte's in the House!

After a check of $25,000 in the name of Ryan Lochte was donated by one of Ryan's major sponsors -- Gillette -- to the United States Olympic Committee to support youth sports programs around the country, and after Ryan enjoyed a ceremonial shave, he took questions from reporters. We learned he'd consider doing Dancing with the Stars and suggested Michael Phelps as someone he'd love to compete against on the show -- how do you spell ratings bonanza! No one else really asked questions so I fired away. Is he committed to swim in 2016? ("Oh yeah.") How tough will it be to compete without Phelps? ("Weird.") And, most importantly, what is he looking for in a woman?  Ladies, he couldn't have been more darling when he told me he wants someone he can trust and have fun with. "I want them to be my best friend and my lover at the same time." Awww! You can read more of what Ryan had to say here.

To view all of Kelly's behind-the-scenes Olympic Games blogs, go here, and follow her Olympic tweets on Twitter (@kellywallacetv).

The cost of Kelly's travel to London was paid by Procter & Gamble.

Like this? Want more?
preview
Connect with Us
Follow Our Pins

Yummy recipes, DIY projects, home decor, fashion and more curated by iVillage staffers.

Follow Our Tweets

The very dirty truth about fashion internships... DUN DUN @srslytheshow http://t.co/wfewf

On Instagram

Behind-the-scenes pics from iVillage.

Best of the Web