OlympicVillage Live Blog: Day 12

We're taking you behind-the-scenes in real time with iVillage chief correspondent Kelly Wallace as she reports on the 2012 Summer Olympics on the ground in London

Tuesday, 1:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. London -- Going for Gold for All Moms

I just saw that Kerri Walsh Jennings, a mom of twoand her partner, Misty May-Treanor, won their semi-final match, sending them to the finals tomorrow and putting them one step closer to their third consecutive Olympic gold medal. This one is extra special, Kerri's mom told me last week, because she's hoping to show everyone that you can be as great after kids as you were before. Plus it's her last match with May-Treanor, who is retiring. This reporter/working mom will be rooting extra hard for Kerri and Misty tomorrow.

Tuesday, 12:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. London -- Gold for Aly!

A beaming Aly Raisman proudly displayed her new gold medal, after a magnificent floor exercise routine put her on top of the medals platform. Aly and her coach knew she soared on the floor, and the judges agreed, awarding her 15.6. Aly would then have to wait for five other gymnasts to perform before learning if her score was good enough for gold -- and it was! Aly also won a bronze earlier in the balance beam event final (Gabby Douglas placed seventh) and adds today's gold and bronze to the team gold the "Fab Five" won last week, making her the most decorated U.S. gymnast of the Games. What a great way to end the women's gymnastics competition. Go Aly!

Tuesday, 11:30 a.m. ET/4:30 p.m. London -- Disappointing End

These were not the Olympics 2011 World Champion Jordyn Wieber had hoped for, as she failed to qualify in the all-around competition and then placed seventh out of eight women in the floor exercise event final today. You could see the disappointment on her face after a bobble or two during her performance. That said, she will forever be known as an Olympic gold medalist, winning gold along with her teammates in the team final last week. I'm really looking forward to interviewing Jordyn tomorrow at the P&G Family Home.

Tuesday, 8:30 a.m. ET/1:30 p.m. London -- Not Enough Superlatives to Describe Team GB's Joy

I really think this country might explode with delight after another historic day at the London Games. Two brothers, Alistair and Jonny Brownlee, took the gold and bronze in the men's triathlon, becoming the first Brits to win medals in the event.

Tuesday, 7:00 a.m. ET/12:00 p.m. London -- Taking the Kids to Watch History in the Making

The British spirit was on full display as the men's triathlon made its way through central London this morning. I met a lovely mom named Charlotte Ash, who brought her two girls, ages 12 and 6, to watch the action firsthand, knowing it might be a "once in a lifetime opportunity" to have the Olympics just an hour's train ride from her Cambridge home. "I think they're loving it, I think they've never seen anything like this, and you know, they're enjoying waving their flags and watching the sport and [I'm] hoping it might encourage them to do a bit more themselves."

Tuesday, 6:30 a.m. ET/11:30 a.m. London -- Keep Smiling!

One of the best quotes of the day came from an Olympic volunteer outside the tube (London's subway system) as I headed to Hyde Park, a location in central London, to watch the men's triathlon.  The cheerful man said, "Please keep smiling all the way to Hyde Park." I did!

To view all of Kelly's behind-the-scenes Olympic Games blogs, go here! You can follow Kelly's Olympic tweets on Twitter (@kellywallacetv).

The cost of Kelly's travel to London was paid by Procter & Gamble.

Like this? Want more?
preview
Connect with Us
Follow Our Pins

Yummy recipes, DIY projects, home decor, fashion and more curated by iVillage staffers.

Follow Our Tweets

The very dirty truth about fashion internships... DUN DUN @srslytheshow http://t.co/wfewf

On Instagram

Behind-the-scenes pics from iVillage.

Best of the Web