OlympicVillage Live Blog: Day 13

We're taking you behind-the-scenes in real time with iVillage chief correspondent Kelly Wallace as she reports on the 2012 Summer Olympics on the ground in London

Wednesday, 4:30 p.m. ET/9:30 p.m. London -- Mom Gets the Gold!

Kerri Walsh Jennings wanted to show the world that women can be as great after kids as they were before and she did. She and her partner, Misty May-Treanor, defeated fellow Americans Jennifer Kessy and April Ross to take their third consecutive Olympic gold in beach volleyball. We bet she can't wait to show her prize to little Sundance, 2, and Joseph, 3. Boys, you'll soon learn there aren't too many moms who have three gold medals. 

Wednesday, 4:00 p.m. ET/9:00 p.m. London -- Disappointment for Merrill

I loved meeting Merrill Moses, goalkeeper for Team USA water polo, and his family, and knew the stakes were high going into tonight's match against Croatia. Merrill and his teammates had to win or else they were out of the tournament with no chance for a gold medal. Sadly, Croatia dominated, winning 8-2, and leaving Team USA to wonder how the team that won a silver in Beijing in 2008 won't medal in London. But Merrill, you are about to enjoy something greater than any gold. Good luck with your first baby -- a girl -- who is expected to arrive in October! 

Wednesday, 3:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. London -- Triathlete Hunter Kemper: Time for New Dreams

Hunter Kemper, a four-time Olympic triathlete, said since the age of eight, he's been dreaming of winning a medal at the Olympics. But after placing 14th in Tuesday's triathlon, the 36-year-old posted a poignant tweet saying, "With tears in my eyes, that dream is no longer." I had a chance to talk with Hunter about his dreams and what it takes to be a triathlete. Stay tuned for that interview coming soon on iVillage.com.

Wedneday, 12:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. London -- Gabby's in the House

Gabby Douglas' aunt, Bianca Williams, told me that Gabby has a big personality and that America should get ready for it.  I saw that firsthand when the bubbly, dynamic 16-year-old and her mom joined me for an interview.  Gabby says her history making all-around title is still "surreal" and that she would love to meet "every one" of the celebrities who have tweeted her congratulations.  President Obama, she said, told her to stop by the White House some time. "I’m like, 'Oh, it’s on my calendar," she said with a laugh.  My interview is coming soon on iVillage.com.

Wednesday, 12:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. London -- Gold Medal or Justin Bieber Tweet: Which Means More?

That was my first question when I had a chance to sit down with Jordyn Wieber, member of the gold medal winning gymnastics team, and her mom. No surprise that as much as Wieber loved hearing from Bieber, she cherishes her gold medal much more. These Olympics were disappointing for the 2011 World Champion who failed to qualify for the all-around, but I sense she has been moved by how impressed people in the U.S. are with how she shifted from her tears to fight forcefully for team gold. Stay tuned for more of my interview on iVillage.com.

Wednesday, 5:30 a.m. ET/10:30 a.m. London -- Ashton's Gold Medal Pursuit Begins

I've really enjoyed getting to know Roz Eaton, mom of Asthon Eaton, the gold medal favorite in the decathlon, so I was watching extra closely as Ashton started the first of ten events this morning, with the winner of the Olympic decathlon often considered the best all-around athlete on the planet.  A BBC presenter said that many Brits might not know Ashton, but predicted they would after the Olympics. He broke the world record in the decathlon at the U.S. trials and got off to a good start in London, running the 100-meters in 10.35 seconds, which is an Olympic decathlon record. Mom said she would likely be crying once it all started. Hope she brought her tissues.

To view all of Kelly's behind-the-scenes Olympic Games blogs, go here! You can also follow her Olympic tweets on Twitter (@kellywallacetv).

The cost of Kelly's travel to London was paid by Procter & Gamble.

Connect with Us
Follow Our Pins

Yummy recipes, DIY projects, home decor, fashion and more curated by iVillage staffers.

Follow Our Tweets

The very dirty truth about fashion internships... DUN DUN @srslytheshow http://t.co/wfewf

On Instagram

Behind-the-scenes pics from iVillage.

Best of the Web