OlympicVillage Live Blog: Day 14

We're taking you behind the scenes in real time with iVillage chief correspondent Kelly Wallace as she reports on the 2012 Summer Olympics on the ground in London

Thursday, 4:40 p.m. ET/9:40 p.m. London -- Golden Night for USA

First, we learned that Ashton Eaton had won the gold in the decathlon, earning the title as the greatest all-around athlete in the world. Minutes later, news that Team USA defeated Japan to win the gold in women's soccer. I hope little girls across America watch the coverage in primetime tonight and are truly inspired by the women's team and by Eaton, too.

Thursday, 4:00 p.m. ET/9:00 p.m. London -- He Does It Again!

80,000 fans were on their feet at Olympic Stadium even before the 200-meter race, starring the legendary Usain Bolt, began. They remained on their feet as Bolt took off, stormed ahead and won his second Olympic 200-meter race, the only man to defend his Olympic titles in both the 100- and 200-meter contests. With Jamaica placing first, second and third this evening, you know they are going to be partying all night long back home.

Thursday, 12:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. London -- Another Baby and Another Gold

That's what Kerri Walsh Jennings told me she wanted when I had the pleasure of interviewing her, and fair to say it would be in this order -- baby first, then another gold in Rio.  Walsh Jennings will need a new partner since her partner of 11 years, Misty May-Treanor, is retiring. The three-time gold medalist did say that April Ross, the silver medal partner to Jennifer Kessy, would be on the top of her list of people to talk to. But before she starts thinking about a new partner and 2016, she has more important things to do like getting some sleep and napping with her boys, Sundance, 2, and Joseph, 3. Stay tuned for my interview with Kerri coming soon on iVillage.com.

Thursday, 11:00 a.m. ET/4:00 p.m. London -- Big Boost for Youth Sports

Full dislosure here -- I missed the entire news conference where P&G announced it would raise $25 million to support youth sports around the world. I was on the Tube, got off at the wrong stop and the rest is, as they say, history (although my travels did land me directly in front of Big Ben on a beautiful London day, so it wasn't a total loss). Joining P&G officials at the news conference were Kerri Walsh Jennings, who helped establish a youth fund in the U.S. and marathoner Paula Radcliffe who had to pull out of competing in London due to an injury.

Thursday, 8:30 a.m. ET/1:30 p.m. London -- The Beautiful Natalie Coughlin

If Natalie Coughlin were not a swimmer, she could have been a model. She is absolutely beautiful in person. But we didn't chat about that during our interview. We talked about how it feels to be tied for the title of most decorated American female swimmer of all time, whether she'll keep swimming for 2016 and what she's growing in her organic garden. I read later that Michael Phelps, who has said he would consider doing Dancing with the Stars, mentioned Natalie, a DWTS alum, as a possible dance partner. Sadly, I didn't see the article in time to ask Natalie but how great would that match-up be! My video interview wtih Natalie is coming soon on iVillage.com.

To view all of Kelly's behind-the-scenes Olympic Games blogs, go here! You can also follow all of Kelly's tweets (@kellywallacetv).

The cost of Kelly's travel to London was paid by Procter & Gamble.

Connect with Us
Follow Our Pins

Yummy recipes, DIY projects, home decor, fashion and more curated by iVillage staffers.

Follow Our Tweets

The very dirty truth about fashion internships... DUN DUN @srslytheshow http://t.co/wfewf

On Instagram

Behind-the-scenes pics from iVillage.

Best of the Web