OlympicVillage Live Blog: Day Eight

We're taking you behind-the-scenes in real time with iVillage chief correspondent Kelly Wallace as she reports on the 2012 Summer Olympics on the ground in London

Friday, 2:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. London - Phelps Truly is Superhuman!

That is what I tweeted after Michael Phelps won the 100-meter butterfly, becoming the only Olympian to defend his titles in two different events in three different Olympic Games. "A good way to finish my last individual swim ever," the champion, who plans to retire after these Olympics, said.

But that wasn't all.  17-year-old Missy Franklin broke the world record in the 200-meter backstroke, saying this was a moment she dreamed about all her life, and dedicating everything she does in London to the people of her hometown of Aurora, Colorado. And then 15-year-old Katie Ledecky stunned the British crowd, defeating the hometown favorite and winning the 800-meter race.  

The U.S. has now won 27 medals in swimming, more than any other country so far.

Friday, 12:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. London -- The Beach Volleyball Dancers!

Beach volleyball is one of the most popular venues at the Games and it's right in the heart of London, just a five minute walk from 10 Downing Street.  We're just not sure if fans are flocking here to see the beach volleyball or the dancers who strut their stuff before and after matches, dancing along to hits from the 80's such as songs from Miami Sound Machine.  iVillage President Jodi Kahn, who's watching a match right now, says the "atmosphere and weather feel more like New York's Shea Stadium than in front of Buckingham Palace." 

Friday, 8:30 a.m. ET/1:30 p.m. London -- High Tea Time!

My first afternoon tea since I arrived in London and what a treat to enjoy it with iVillage's Jodi Kahn and her fabulous husband, Fred Poust.  Jodi and Fred are off to beach volleyball so we might get some first hand reporting from them shortly.  In the meantime, since it's fairly quiet at the P&G Family Home today, I headed to my favorite "office" in London -- a local Starbucks -- to file for this blog and our behind-the-scenes photoblog.

Friday, 7:00 a.m. ET/12:00 p.m. London - Happy Birthday Ryan!

Ryan Lochte turns 28 today and has already had at least two birthday cakes in his honor, one on The Today Show and another during an interview on E!  While he says he had "some ups and downs" in London, two golds, two silvers and a bronze sound pretty good to us and quite a nice way to celebrate a birthday.  And now that his races are over, we can get to the really important stuff -- what is one of the most eligible bachelors on Team USA looking for in a partner? On Twitter today, @ryanlochte said, "She has got to make me happy and trust. Of course I wanna get married and have kids."  Women of America, there's your answer!

Friday, 5:30 a.m. ET/10:30 a.m. London – No Empty Seats Here!

There’s been plenty of talk during the London Games about empty seats at venues but that doesn’t seem to be the case at Olympic Stadium on the opening day/morning of track and field events.  Some 80,000 fans turned out and just erupted as local Team GB (Great Britain) favorite, Jessica Ennis, won her 100-meter hurdles heat, breaking the world record and getting a great start in her pursuit of a gold in the Olympic heptathlon.  In a little bit of trivia, do you know who from Team USA is engaged to heptathlete Brianne Theisen, an Olympian from Canada?  The answer:  Ashton Eaton, who's a favorite for gold in the decathlon next week.  I spoke with Ashton's mom and she thought Ashton would likely be more nervous watching Brianne compete than competing himself.

Friday, 5:00 a.m. ET/10:00 a.m. London – Stars Tweet the New All-Around Champ

I love Twitter at the 2012 Games. You learn so much about what the athletes are thinking, and who’s watching. One look at Gabby Douglas feed this morning, the new all-around champ in women’s gymnastics and the first African American ever to win the title and individual Olympic gold, and you see some big names tweeting congratulations including Elizabeth Banks, Octavia Spencer, Oprah (“Flowing happy tears”) and Michael Phelps (“Congrats to @gabrielledoug last night!!! We watched from the pool!!! #USA”)

To view all of Kelly's behind-the-scenes Olympic Games blogs, go here!

The cost of Kelly's travel to London was paid by Procter & Gamble.

Like this? Want more?
preview
FILED UNDER:
Connect with Us
Follow Our Pins

Yummy recipes, DIY projects, home decor, fashion and more curated by iVillage staffers.

Follow Our Tweets

The very dirty truth about fashion internships... DUN DUN @srslytheshow http://t.co/wfewf

On Instagram

Behind-the-scenes pics from iVillage.

Best of the Web