OlympicVillage Live Blog: Day Five

We're taking you behind-the-scenes in real time with iVillage chief correspondent Kelly Wallace as she reports on the 2012 Summer Olympics on the ground in London

Tuesday, 4:15 p.m. ET/9:15 p.m. London: Champagne and Flowers for the Moms!

"I am going to celebrate this one!," said Natalie Hawkins, Gabby Douglas' mom, shortly after she and the other moms of Team USA were treated to a champagne toast and flowers inside the P&G Salon.  Also here was Gabby's Des Moines "mom" -- Missy Parton.  Missy and her husband Travis along with their four daughters are Gabby's host family in Des Moines.  Two years ago, at the age of 14, she left her family to work with a better coach.  Gabby's grandmother, Carolyn Ford, said the team gold would not have been possible without the Partons and Des Moines.

"You know what I love about Des Moines, they have embraced Gabrielle, it's like the whole city has rallied around her," said Ford.  "It's so amazing to me because she wouldn't be where she is without all that support."

As for the moms, someone suggested they could relax now.  Hawkins then quipped "until the all-around competition," which is set for Thursday.

Tuesday, 3:45 p.m. ET/8:45 p.m. London: Michael Phelps - Winning Gold and Making History

Shortly after disappointment filled the air with Michael Phelps losing the 200-meter butterfly, one of his signature events, right at the very end of the race, there was elation, genuine pride and relief after Michael Phelps did what everyone was wondering before the London Games -- he made history.  Ryan Lochte, Connor Dwyer and Ricky Berens delivered a sizable lead for Phelps, who only needed to stay in front to win gold and get his 19th medal. He did and became the most decorated Olympian ever.  One fan joked that now maybe Phelps can relax and enjoy being here.

Tuesday, 2:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. London: Remember this Name - Allison Schmitt!

Family members of the U.S. team roared as Allison Schmitt, who keeps winning medals here won again but this one was the most precious-- her first gold and an Olympic record along the way in the 200-meter freestyle.

Tuesday, 2:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. London: They Did It! Gold for Team USA!

They came in favored to win the gold and they did, becoming the first U.S. women's gymnastics team to end up on top of the medals platform since the 1996 team hailed as the "Magnificent Seven." This team should be called the "Rock Solid Five" with each member nailing her routines.

iVillage's Jodi Kahn, who was inside the arena, said it was a packed house with the energy building with each rotation. The American gymnasts were very vocal during their teammates' routines, she said.

Gabby Douglas' grandmother, Carolyn Ford, watched Team USA's gold medal winning performance from the P&G Family Home. "They represented our country and they went out there and had a job to do and they did it. That speaks volumes," beamed the proud grandma, whose granddaughter competes in the all-around Thursday.

Aly Raisman, the world bronze medalist in floor exercise, was the last member of Team USA to perform. After her nearly flawless performance on the floor, the crowd, team and coaches erupted with cheers -- and so did all the families watching on TV here.

What was especially wonderful was watching 17-year-old Jordyn Wieber appearing to have the time of her life on the floor, after suffering a crushing defeat Sunday by not qualifying in the all-around final. Now Jordyn has a gold she always dreamed about, and so does Team USA.

Tuesday, 8:00 a.m. ET/1:00 p.m. London: “We are ready to go!!!”

Just scanned Twitter and see that the U.S. women’s gymnastics team – at least from Twitter – seems ready and raring to go. 2011 World Champ Jordyn Wieber, who in a crushing blow failed to qualify for the women’s all-around competition, appears to be putting that defeat behind her. “TEAM FINALS TODAY! Really feeling the USA spirit and we are ready to go!!!," @jordyn_wieber tweeted. Wrote Gabby Douglas@gabrielledoug, “What time is it?? … ITS GAME TIME!!! LEZZGO.”

Tuesday, 7:00 a.m. ET/12:00 p.m. London: “No Matter What Happens, We’ll Celebrate Like There’s No Tomorrow”

I just posted my interview with Natalie Hawkins, Gabby Douglas' mom. While 16-year-old Gabby is called the “flying squirrel” for the incredible heights she soars on the bars and the beam, her mom should be called “Ms. Grounded” for such a balanced philosophy about the Olympics. Later today, Gabby and her teammates will try to win the first Olympic team gold for the U.S. since 1996. Gabby is also one of only two American women who will compete for the all-around gold. 

"We’re going to have a party no matter what you do," Hawkins told us she told Gabby. "Forever more you’re an Olympian and that says it all.” We agree!

Tuesday, 4:00 a.m. ET/9:00 a.m. London: Controversy in the Pool

A story getting plenty of attention in the press centers around a 16-year-old Chinese swimming sensation, Ye Shiwen, who won the gold in the 400 individual medley (IM) and clocked in at a higher speed in the last 50 meters than the men’s gold medal champ in the same event, U.S. star Ryan Lochte.  A U.S. swimming coach who is not affiliated with the U.S. Olympic team, John Leonard, called the swim "disturbing" and "unbelievable," but the Chinese say the swimmer has been subjected to 100 drug tests. I saw a post on Twitter asking a provocative question – would we be asking this same question if the Chinese swimmer were a man?

To view all of Kelly's behind-the-scenes Olympic Games blogs, go here!

The cost of Kelly's travel to London was paid by Procter & Gamble.

Connect with Us
Follow Our Pins

Yummy recipes, DIY projects, home decor, fashion and more curated by iVillage staffers.

Follow Our Tweets

The very dirty truth about fashion internships... DUN DUN @srslytheshow http://t.co/wfewf

On Instagram

Behind-the-scenes pics from iVillage.

Best of the Web