OlympicVillage Live Blog: Day Four

We're taking you behind-the-scenes in real time with iVillage chief correspondent Kelly Wallace as she reports on the 2012 Summer Olympics on the ground in London

Monday, 2:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. London: Big Night for Americans in the Pool!

At another Ryan Lochte viewing party in the so-called “mancave” at the P&G Family Home for athletes and their families, the crowd geared up for an exciting night of U.S. swimming action. While Ryan wasn’t able to medal in the 200m freestyle, two of his American teammates made it to the top spot on the medal platform -- Matthew Grevers who won gold with a new Olympic record in the 100m backstroke, and new swimming sensation, 17-year-old Missy Franklin, who won the gold in the women's 100m backstroke. Get this -- she swam her final just 18 minutes after swimming in the semifinals in another event. Amazing! And she can dance too! Have you seen her and her U.S. swimming teammates in their "Call Me Maybe" video? Worth watching!

 

Monday, 12:45 p.m. ET/5:45 p.m. London: Meet Michelle Carter, Two-time Olympian in Shot Put/Track & Field

With so much attention on sports like swimming and gymnastics, it was such a treat to have a chance to talk with Michelle Carter, a 26-year-old two-time Olympian in shot put. While getting a “patriotic pedicure" at the P&G Salon, Carter told me her dad is believed to be the only person to ever win a Superbowl ring and an Olympic medal in the same year. Michael Carter played for the San Francisco 49ers and won the silver in shot put in the 1984 Olympics. Michelle placed 15th in 2008 in Beijing. The goal this year? “I at least want to be on the podium, but the main goal is the gold medal.” Good luck Michelle, and for more of my interview with Michelle go here.

Monday, 12:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. London: Jordyn’s Mom on the Day After

I ran into Rita Wieber, mom of Jordyn Wieber, the day after her daughter, the reigning world champion, failed to qualify for the women’s all-around final in gymnastics. Rita, who wrote a moving blog post following Jordyn's defeat about her faith and how she believes “God always has a plan” said Jordyn was “devastated” and cried Sunday, but that her teammates said she was doing okay today. I told her that Jordyn has been trending on Twitter and she laughed saying her daughter, (@jordyn_wieber), would love hearing that. Jordyn’s focus is now on the women’s team final Tuesday. The 17-year-old, who so gracefully handled defeat, is now a new American sweetheart. Americans (including this one!) will be cheering her on! 

Monday, 11:30 a.m. ET/4:30 p.m. London: Team USA Goes for Gymnastics Gold

After qualifying in the number one position for the team final -- ahead of power houses such as China and Japan -- expectations were high that the U.S. men would make it on the medal platform in team gymnastics. And so it was a fairly packed crowd inside the P&G Family Home, where many family members of athletes were lying back on beanbag chairs watching the competition. Sadly, it just wasn’t Team USA’s day, with the men coming in 5th. But let’s be excited for Team GB, especially with princes in the house! Prince William and Prince Harry were in the arena watching the competition, as Great Britain won an Olympic medal in gymnastics for the first time in a century. At first, it appeared to be silver, but then judges reviewed scores for Japan, and the British fell a notch to bronze. The crowd booed, but then cheered because this was such a big moment for England -- so big that on my way back to the hotel, a conductor on the tube (London’s subway system) announced there had been “good news” and told passengers about the British gymnastics team's triumph.

Monday, 5:30 a.m. ET/10:30 a.m. London: Tickets for Sale!

With mounting concern over rows of empty seats at sold-out venues, London organizers put 3,000 tickets on sale Sunday night, which were gone by morning. It looks like this will be the plan for the immediate future -- offer tickets to the public each evening -- tickets the public will eat up in a New York minute. A local mom, interviewed by The Times, put it this way. “As a Londoner with two kids desperate to take part, we feel excluded and it is especially galling when you see all those empty seats,” she said. “We would love to be there.”

To view all of Kelly's behind-the-scenes Olympic Games blogs, go here! And follow Kelly's Olympic tweets by following her on Twitter (@kellywallacetv.)

The cost of Kelly Wallace’s travel to London and accommodation was paid by Procter & Gamble.

Like this? Want more?
preview
FILED UNDER:
Connect with Us
Follow Our Pins

Yummy recipes, DIY projects, home decor, fashion and more curated by iVillage staffers.

Follow Our Tweets

The very dirty truth about fashion internships... DUN DUN @srslytheshow http://t.co/wfewf

On Instagram

Behind-the-scenes pics from iVillage.

Best of the Web