OlympicVillage Live Blog: Day Three

We're taking you behind-the-scenes in real time with iVillage chief correspondent Kelly Wallace as she reports on the 2012 Summer Olympics on the ground in London

Sunday, 10pm ET, Monday, 3am London:  A Message from Jordyn's Mom

I really should be sleeping but I stayed up late writing, and then saw a Twitter mention of a post written by Jordyn Wieber's mom, Rita, on her blog.  "God has a plan.  That I know," she wrote.  "Things don't always end up as we think they should, but in the end, maybe not for a very long time, but at some point, it becomes obvious that God had a good plan."

"Only 2 athletes per country, regardless of score can go to the AA (all-around) finals," she wrote.  "To me, that makes no sense. Shouldn't the AA finals be the top 8 athletes period??? It doesn't make sense yet.  It doesn't matter -- it is what it is."

"I am VERY proud of Jordyn and love her more than anything.  I am heartbroken that she won't have the chance to fulfill her lifelong dream, but I pray that she will feel fulfilled and grateful for what she has accomplished and contributed to this sport... To be part of an Olympic team is an amazing accomplishment in itself, and I hope that is what Jordyn feels in the end.  She is very blessed."

Sunday, 4:15pm ET, 9:15pm London: Girl Power!

What do you do when your swim cap comes off during a race? If you are American swimmer Dana Vollmer, you swim to victory in the 100m butterfly, breaking a world record and earning a gold medal.  "I'm on top of the world right now," the champ, who failed to qualify for the 2008 Games, told NBC Sports.  "I still know I can go faster."

Another American making her way to the medal podium -- Allison Schmitt who won a silver in the 400m freestyle.

Go Team USA!

Sunday, 4:00pm ET, 9:00pm London:  Lochte Nation!

It felt like Lochte nation in the so-called "mancave" at the P&G Family Home where dozens of Team USA family members and athletes gathered to watch Ryan Lochte go for his second gold of the London Games in the 4 x 100m men's relay.  "USA, USA, USA," the crowd chanted, and the roars got even louder as Michael Phelps opened up a solid lead when he raced second.  But sadly, Lochte came up short in his anchor leg with the French pulling off a victory, and the U.S. settling for silver.  I tweeted, "Team USA prob. disappointed esp. @ryanlochte but silver's gr8t.  That's the mom in me."

But Lochte fans (including moi), no need to be upset.  The gold medal swimmer is now getting the "Call Me Lochte" treatment.  This is definitely worth watching!

 

Sunday, 3:30pm ET, 8:30pm London:  Whatever Happens, You're An Olympian!

I had the loveliest chat with Gabby Douglas' mom, Natatlie Hawkins, a single mom of four who struggled with an incredibly tough decision two years ago -- whether to agree to Gabby's wishes and have her move to Des Moines, Iowa to train with Liang Chow.  Chow coached Shawn Johnson to Olympic gold.  Hawkins ultimately agreed and now her daughter is one of two American women competing for all-around gold, but mom says her daughter is already a champion by making it to the Olympics.  We agree.  We'll have more of my interview with Gabby's mom Monday on iVillage.com.

Sunday, 12:30pm ET, 5:30pm London:  Shawn Johnson on Jordyn Wieber and Dancing with the Stars!

We caught up with the retired gymnast who said she was "very shocked" that Jordyn Wieber did not qualify for the all-around women's competition. "It broke my heart but I'm very happy for Team USA (which qualified for the team final Tuesday) and I'm very happy for Aly."  Aly Raisman, whom Shawn called a "fierce competitor," and Gabby Douglas, whom Shawn considers almost like a little sister, will compete for all-around gold for the U.S.

We also had to ask Shawn about her return to Dancing with the Stars, as part of a roster of all stars from previous seasons.  Shawn, who is a former DWTS champion, is excited but said the competition will be fierce.  Check out more of my interview with Shawn on iVillage.com.

Sunday, 11:10am ET, 4:10pm London: Shocker!

As we watched the end of the women's gymnastics qualifying round here at the P&G Family Home, we could see Jordyn Wieber crying.  We didn't know why and speculated that maybe they were tears of relief.  But that didn't seem quite right.  And now we realize they were tears of disappointment.  Jordyn, the 2011 World Champion, did not qualify for the all-around competition, meaning her dream of winning all-around gold has come to an end.  My heart goes out to Jordyn and her entire family.  The two American women who will compete for all-around gold are Gabby Douglas and Aly Raisman.

 

Sunday, 10:30am ET, 3:30pm London: Ryan Lochte – “A Superstar is Born”

I just showed the cover of The Sunday Times to Ryan Lochte’s aunt and uncle, Maggie and Jack Paschke, who hadn’t seen it yet. The full page cover includes a picture of Ryan from his tremendous gold medal winning swim Saturday night with this headline, “A Superstar is Born – America’s Ryan Lochte Crowned New King of the Pool.” Maggie, who had never seen Ryan compete in the Olympics until now, had tears in her eyes. Ryan’s brother just came by because he hadn’t seen it either. Of course, I gave him my copy! Ryan swims for another gold in the 4x100m relay later tonight.

Sunday, 7:45am ET / 12:45pm ET: U.S. Gymnasts – “We are so ready to compete”

If social media is any guide, then the women of USA Gymnastics, favored to win gold in the team competition, which begins today, seem as relaxed as typical teenagers ready for a weekend with their friends.

“This is crazy but we are so ready to compete and represent our country,” Jordyn Wieber (@jordyn_wieber) tweeted Saturday. Over the past few days, she’s tweeted back to her friends in Michigan and tweeted a photo with Bruce Jenner saying “Bruce Jenner NBD (no big deal!)" and a photo of Team USA doing splits with Ryan Seacrest.

Aly Raisman (@Aly_Raisman) tweeted, “I always wondered what it would be like going to sleep the night before prelims at the Olympics…Feels awesome."

Gabby Douglas, viewed as a real contender with Wieber for the gold in the all-around, tweeted earlier Sunday morning, “Today is the day. Thank you everyone for your love, support and prayers… So excited to represent USA!”

Carly Patterson, the 2004 All-Around Gold Medalist, in an interview at the P&G Family Home, said from what she’s seen so far from all the girls on Twitter, it looks like they “aren’t fazed” by all the attention. Patterson thinks they can keep it that way by avoiding the hype. “My advice would be to not read it, that was the advice I got,” she said, “because then that starts getting to you…even though you think it won’t, it does.”

Sunday, 7:30am ET/ 12:30pm London: View from the International Broadcast Center

I made my way for the first time to the massive International Broadcast Center (known here as the IBC) in East London, which as the name implies houses media from all over the world covering the Olympics. The Tube (London’s underground) was packed with Londoners who appeared to be heading to venues at Olympic Park, which is right nearby. Let’s hope they can get tickets!

Sunday, 4:00am ET / 9:00am London: Empty Seats!

Tickets have been impossible to get for these London Games, which is why there is growing outrage on the part of Englanders and fans from the rest of the world about all the empty seats at venues, including for some of the most popular sports such as swimming and gymnastics.  London organizers told the BBC they believe these tickets belong to sponsors and said they’re investigating.  I agree with the commentator who suggested organizers should let fans line up outside venues.  If people don’t claim their tickets 30 minutes after the event begins, he suggested they go to the public.

You can read all of Kelly's daily behind-the-scenes blogs about the 2012 Summer Olympics here!

FILED UNDER:
Connect with Us
Follow Our Pins

Yummy recipes, DIY projects, home decor, fashion and more curated by iVillage staffers.

Follow Our Tweets

The very dirty truth about fashion internships... DUN DUN @srslytheshow http://t.co/wfewf

On Instagram

Behind-the-scenes pics from iVillage.

Best of the Web