They're messing with my Easter!!!

Community Leader
They're messing with my Easter!!!
Wed, 04-02-2014 - 3:14pm

Argh! I just learned that my sister will be serving leg of lamb on Easter. WHA?!?!?! I don't eat lamb. So my mom will make something at her house and bring it for the rest of us (they live in the same state, I do not). Now my mom texted me and said, "Would you rather a pork loin with the lamb?" OMGawd, woman! HAM. We have HAM on Easter. I'm thinking we need to rethink who gets the holidays, because this is just not working for me!

So, what do you make for Easter? (I know we touched upon in a bit in the other thread.) Would you be willing to give up your traditional meal for something else? (You can tell I'm having a really hard time letting go — I've been doing Easter for 12+ years, lol.)

iVillage Member
Wed, 04-02-2014 - 3:56pm

Wow!  I don't think I can handle having drama for Easter!  Undecided

I am spending Easter with a bunch of Bohemian friends and have no idea what will be on the table.  As long as it is not against my personal belief and/or health reasons, I will give everything a try.  After all, it is the company, not the food, that really matters.

Community Leader
Wed, 04-02-2014 - 5:17pm

We used to have leg of lamb or a ham. Then my dh stopped eating red meat so it had to be poultry, fish, or vegetarian. These days I just "go with the flow" when there is a gathering. The one tradition we do keep for Easter food is hard boiled eggs and a rich bread like challah or brioche for breakfast/brunch. 

iVillage Member
Thu, 04-03-2014 - 11:29am

Easter is one of those holidays when we don't really have a tradition as far as we have always had the same meal.  Now if you took away turkey on Thanksgiving, that would be sacriligious, but I don't care whether we have ham on Easter.  MY kids really didn't like ham when they were little so we would have other things and no one really likes lamb.

iVillage Member
Fri, 04-04-2014 - 11:08am