Fat in France and trying to start..... AGAIN - Am I in the right spot???

iVillage Member
Fat in France and trying to start..... AGAIN - Am I in the right spot???
Thu, 12-01-2011 - 8:49am

Hi Everyone,

I am new to iVilliage, and to this group and looking for a community to help kick-start my 2012!

iVillage Member
Wow! Thanks so much for that book list. I'm going to add them to my Christmas wish list (and maybe even buy one for my self to start reading now!)
iVillage Member

I love the walking tour idea!!

I have to admit I read health and diet advice books. I take them with a grain of salt!! I never believe every single bit of advice but they keep me motivated and gives me good ideas on sticking with my core program. I try to be selective with what I read. I started reading a book by Dr. Phil that seems very reasonable thus far. I also have a book by Bob Greene about dealing with emotional eating and setting a good plan for weight loss. I've also read this year a very medical approach to weight loss by a MD. he uses a very very slow approach to WL but its very good info for understanding what is actually happening to the body as it gains and loses weight.

The Ultimate Weight Solution by Dr. Phil

Make the Connection by Bob Greene. I also want to get the follow up book by Bob Greene called Keep the Connection

Break Through Your Set Point by George L. Blackburn, MD

I also read weight loss memoirs! (Don't laugh! LOL!) I find them so motivating and interesting. I've read:

The Amazing Adventures of Diet Girl by Sauna Reid. This gal lost a ton of weight in her 20's. She also keeps a blog about her journey. It's very touching and funny at times!

Community Leader for: 100 Pounds of More To Go!!
Gotta do it. Gonna Do It in 2012!
iVillage Member