Newbie here

iVillage Member
Newbie here
Sun, 01-22-2012 - 2:35pm

After lurking for a while I finally decided to join iVillage. My name is Kiki, 30 years old with a wonderful husband. We are both struggling with our weight (though I have quite a bit further to go than he does) so we are trying to support each other.

This seems to work wonderfully when it comes to diet, not so much when it comes to exercise. Until I broke my foot a week ago I was walking the dog about 2 miles a day, and every few days taking my new bike out for a ride (don't remember it being so hard when I was a kid), he seems to have no interest in going with me for the walks, and very rarely for the bike rides. It gets very frustrating sometimes trying to do it all alone.

Anyway, I started fresh when we got back for the New Year, with a starting weight of 264, after 2 weeks of diet at exercise I got down to 252, and am going to weigh in again in 2 days.

I would like to know if anyone else struggles with motivation when it seems like you have to do it all by yourself. Any ideas for how to get moving when you can't move (darn foot!)

Any advice is welcome.

Thanks

iVillage Member
In reply to: lanaibum
Sun, 01-22-2012 - 9:34pm

If you lost 12 pounds in 2 weeks, you are doing phenomenally well.

"Never run faster than your guardian angel can fly!"

iVillage Member
Sun, 01-22-2012 - 10:41pm