white puss in throat, does it mean strep

iVillage Member
white puss in throat, does it mean strep
Thu, 03-24-2005 - 6:54am

if you have white puss on one side of your throat, does it automatically mean strep throat? i have had the usual allergy symptoms with a sore throat the past 2 days and this morning awoke with a severe sore throat & white puss? i have no tonsils. i have no fever.

just curious if i should call out of work- and go to the doctors... if it is just allergies they wont do anything for me. and i will miss another day of work- i missed monday... and i don't get sick pay. i need money for the baby right now!!! ughhh, decisions decisions.

any ideas guys? strep? just sinus?

~Heather

our baby boy is coming soon!
Lilypie Baby PicLilypie Baby Ticker

iVillage Member
Thu, 03-24-2005 - 8:00am

Hey there! I am not a doctor or a nurse, however I work in a pediatricians office and I field questions constantly. This is one that I answer regularly. (of course the doctors answer, I just convey messsages) Anyhow, there is no way to tell if it is strep without a culture. I think that many doctors assume it is is strep and treat it, but really it should be cultured overnight. The rapid strep tests that take only a minute are not very accurate. If you are in alot of pain and feeling very sick, I would see a doctor. I have not heard of allergies causing pus in the throat. There are many viruses that do cause pus in the throat though and most of the time, virus just takes time to heal.

Good Luck...Feel Better!!
Karen

Ousig

iVillage Member
Thu, 03-24-2005 - 8:38am

Hi. You may want to call to be safe but I can tell you that I have a lot of sinus troubles and I have had some pretty nasty looking stuff go down the back of my throat. I've also had severe throat pain with it. I think the key is I almost never get a fever with it. Like the pp said, you probably should call, but if it is sinus drink TONS of water to flush it out. Hope you feel better.

Tonya