Malware Alert
Find a Conversation
Malware Alert
| Mon, 12-24-2012 - 6:18am |
When I tried to load a page on the message board today, I got Chrome telling me this:
Danger: Malware Ahead!
Google Chrome has blocked access to this page on www.ivillage.com.
Content from walls.free.total-wallpapers.com, a known malware distributor, has been inserted into this web page. Visiting this page now is very likely to infect your computer with malware.
Malware is malicious software that causes things like identity theft, financial loss and permanent file deletion.
Maybe it's just Chrome being overly-cautious but it still concerns me that iVillage might be showing ads from a known malware distributor.
Hi..
FWIW, there's a good possibility this is just Chrome over-reacting to an ad; sometimes, an add-on or setting in Chrome gives a false positive about a running ad. Unfortunately, since it's a browser-related issue, we can't fix it but I can promise you that our site doesn't have any malware on it. Hope that is reassuring!
Donna
I suggest using and dedicated anti-malware such as malwarebytes. (cnet downloads) This has even defeated the Russian fraudware.
Hi there -
Yes, it sounds as if someone grabbed something from the free wallpapers site and put it in their sig. It could be just the mention of the name that is setting off your protection system. If you can let me know what topic you're on or the thread you're in, I can look into it and remove it.
Thanks!
Erin
Community Technical Assistant, iVillage.com
Click Here to Enter & Vote
Click Here for Let's Fix Dinner!
Genealogical Musings
Hi, as far as I know, we have no relationship with the free wallpapers site. It sounds like it's most likely malware, and I would suggest running a scan. I'll pass this on for investigation though. Do you remember where you were when you saw it?
Karla
Community Moderator, iVillage.com