Hello from michigan!

Community Leader
Registered: 01-03-2004
Hello from michigan!
10
Mon, 04-26-2010 - 10:02pm

Hi,
I am glad I ventured onto this board. All of you sound very happy and busy with your families. How wonderful!

Just wanted to say hello and introduce myself. I'll upload some photos when I finally get them loaded on this computer!

My name is Dawn aka WIsdomtooth2020 and I am happily married to Lee. We live in a small town in West Michigan. I am a banker and my husband is a writer. We own three cats - Simon, Sophia, and Sammy. Simon is a Bengal and is the size of a dog (and he comes when called), Sophia is a black siamese and Sammy is a snowshoe siamese.

We are not parents of either biological or step-children. This is a second marriage. We never had kids in our first marriages and opted not to in this marriage.

We own a beautiful, historic home and enjoy it tremendously. I garden and am busy building and creating new flowerbeds when i am not working. My husband is a music collector and has encyclopedia knowledge of lyrics, bands, and musicians. We both love to read.

We just celebrated our 11th anniversary, and I can say with all honesty we have a very happy, stable, and fulfilling marriage. I wish my first one had been this good!

Will chime in when I can.

Dawn aka Wisdomtooth2020

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-25-2009
Mon, 04-26-2010 - 10:18pm

Hi Dawn,

Welcome to the board! I grew up in W. Michigan; Holland and lived in both Saugatuck and Kalamazoo for years. We're now in Olympia, WA and I miss this time of year in Holland!
-Jennie

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-19-2003
Mon, 04-26-2010 - 11:22pm
Hi Dawn,
Welcome to the board :)

I'm Hugs & have been married almost 31 years,
Happily married for the most part with two grown sons & two furkids (dogs)

Wow on that one cat being big but very cool he comes when called!
Would love to see pics of your furkids & house.
Sounds like a beauty.

Fun hobbies you both enjoy it sounds like.
What kind of flowers have you been planting ?

Hope you will join in our discussions here.
We love making new friends.
Look forward to getting to know you :)


          Click & Join the fun!
iVillage Member
Registered: 09-20-2007
Tue, 04-27-2010 - 1:06am
Hi there, Dawn, and welcome to the board! I was born in Michigan (as was my mother) and my in-laws live there. DH and I lived there for about a year and a half. My name is Nancy, I'm 49, married to Brent, who is 29. Like you and your DH we don't have any children. This is my second marriage as well. We've been married for 9 years now.

We have four cats: Billy, Blackie, Siren and Oscar. Billy is orange and white, Blackie is all black, Siren is black with white splotches on her throat, chest and tummy, and Oscar is a grey and white striped tabby and is mostly Maine Coon.



As for hobbies, I love to write, read, belly dance, bead, cook, travel, write to pen pals, hang out on online forums/message boards, listen to music, watch movies and attend Renaissance faires.



I'm looking forward to getting to know you better!
iVillage Member
Registered: 01-07-2008
Tue, 04-27-2010 - 11:46am

Hello, and Welcome!!! I'm Robyn, 29, my Husband is Beau, 32. I still feel like a newlywed, we got married, September 19th, 2009. We have known each other since high school, we were high school sweet hearts, dated from when I was 15, and broke up when I was 20, then got back together when I was around 24. So even though we've been married a short time, We have known each other for a long time! We also decided a long time ago that we weren't going to have children.

I live in Chicago, well about 20 min. west of the city. We also have furkids, we have to bigger dogs, one 11, Floppy, he's a pit- shepherd mix, then Diva, who is also a pit shepherd, 10, we got them separately and didn't know they were the same mix. Then our baby, Chanel, she is going to be 6 in June, and she is a chiwoawoa poodle mix. All of our furkids are adopted from shelters. We love them so much. They are our babies!

Beau and I are also very happy, and this board is such a nice place to swap stories, and vent if you need too! I hope to get to know you Dawn!

* Robyn *

p
p
iVillage Member
Registered: 04-30-2008
Tue, 04-27-2010 - 12:29pm

Hi Dawn.


Im Christine. I am a software analyst and my DH is a career Navy man. We are stationed in San Diego where we own a nice little townhome and like to spend our time at the beach, seeing punk rock shows, or involved in the body adornment/art scene.


We each have a child from a previous relationship but do not have custody of either or them. We are CFBC in our marriage.


We are soon to be celebrating our second wedding anni....and could not be any happier.


We are eagerly looking forward to getting to Europe for a few years and then retirement at 40 and on to

Photobucket
Avatar for mrosie
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-23-2000
Tue, 04-27-2010 - 12:58pm

Welcome to the board, Dawn!


I'm RoseAnn, 35, married for 13 years to Robert, 40. We live in Denver. I work for the Federal government in the area of water quality and DH is a portfolio manager for a computer software company.


I have a grown step-daughter. We have two golden retrievers.


I look forward to getting to know you here!


RoseAnn

Community Leader
Registered: 01-03-2004
Tue, 04-27-2010 - 9:09pm

Sister,
So you belly dance? It's one of my secret desires to learn how to do this! I have an unpredictable work schedule so I can't commit to a course at our local dance studio. But I'd love to try it. It looks like so much fun!

Your kitties sound beautiful and well-loved. We enjoy ours tremendously. I love it when I come home after a long day and all three come running to the door to greet me!

I look forward to hearing more about your hobbies. I also love to cook. I'll have to send you one of my favorite recipes.

Wisdomtooth2020

Community Leader
Registered: 01-03-2004
Tue, 04-27-2010 - 9:12pm

Crafty,
Hi! We live just north of Kalamazoo. My husband was born there. I was born in DeKalb, IL. My mother still lives there. Yes, Holland is gearing up for its annual tulip festival. They actually moved it to the first weekend in May a few years ago because the tulips bloom earlier now.

Our economy is very difficult here but we love it and plan to stay. I have friends who live in Portland, OR and its been a long time since we visited. I'd love to go again one day just to see that part of the country again.

Look forward to hearing from you again.

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-25-2009
Tue, 04-27-2010 - 10:02pm

Hi there,

What a coincidence that we're from the same area (basically). Yes, the economy is pretty bad over there; that's part of the reason why we moved here 3 1/2 years ago. I used to work as a technical writer at Pfizer and frankly, I got sick of the stress of layoffs. I lived in K-zoo for about 10 years; went to college there and then stayed until 2006. We miss parts of it. Not the hot summers and cold winters though. I miss the old farmhouse that we lived in in Schoolcraft...

I noticed that everyone else gave their backgrounds so I'll do the same (peer pressure, you know). My husband and I have been together for 12 years, married for just about 9. No kids-we tried but it wasn't meant to be. I work in the dietary supplement industry (my vanpoolers call it "the pill factory") in QA/QC. I knit, make soap, and my husband and I love mushroom hunting, microbrews, and I read A LOT. No animals.
-Jennie

iVillage Member
Registered: 09-20-2007
Tue, 04-27-2010 - 11:19pm
I could talk about my cats all day! The two adult boys are starting to get up there in age (they are probably both around 10 years old. We're not positive, since we aren't sure of their exact ages when they adopted us). The two kittens keep us on our toes. Right now their favorite toy is a piece of paper rolled up into a ball. They both fetch it for us like dogs.

Belly dancing is a great dance for women, since it uses the natural rhythms of a woman's body. You don't have to be in great shape to belly dance. In fact, it helps if you have extra padding in your lower body. :) There are some really great instructional DVDs out there. I dance tribal style and Gothic style. I wish that I lived in San Francisco, because it is like the tribal style capital of the U.S. When I dance at home I wear a sports bra, pantaloons and a hip scarf. When I go to the Ren faire I wear a black choli with a coin bra (it's black with silver coins), red pantaloons, a black ten yard skirt, a hip shawl (it's red, brown and gold) and dark red shoes. Last year at the fair I both a garland that has feathers and leaves. And of course, I wear jewelry as well.