hi, i'm new here ...

iVillage Member
hi, i'm new here ...
Mon, 04-21-2003 - 6:01pm
i'm not new to ivillage, i've been floating around for a while now, and have found some of the support boards particularly useful. i'm now looking to try to give something back to ivillage (i can't give back to those who helped me directly, but perhaps i can give back to some others) and i came upon your board. was wondering whether you'd mind me hanging around to perhaps offer some support?

i live in England, and i'm a nurse, working in a cardiac care unit, so my day to day life is involved in dealing with patients with acute cardiac problems, usually in the first 48 hours of either MI, arrhythmia, or acute heart failure, although we come across other cardiac problems. things are slightly different over here, so no doubt there are differences in advice, and medications, but i'd like to hang around, if noone minds. if i'm honest, i think i'd get as much out of hanging around as i hope i'd be able to give back - it's nice to hear the 'other side' of the coin, and patient's experiences, but also nice to find ways of communicating what can often be medical jargon in a way that people find accessible and understandable.

i'm thinking about applying to do some sort of CL work, but not really sure whether i can commit to that amount of time at the moment, but ... perhaps something more unofficial would be ok.

i hope noone minds me posting, and i won't be offended if you don't want me to stay, i appreciate that this is a rather out of the blue post!

i hope to hear from you soon, and maybe get to know some of you.

silver x

iVillage Member
Mon, 04-21-2003 - 7:34pm
I think it's great that you stopped in!