Is listening to an audiobook cheating?

• Yes: it' cheating
  • No: it's still enjoying the literary work
  • Other (please explain)

You will be able to change your vote.

Pages

iVillage Member
Fri, 08-17-2007 - 10:26pm

I read for a living, and that last thing I want to do is read for pleasure. In these busy times of life, audiobooks are the perfect way to squeeze in NON-important books for pleasure.

Besides, in the world of teaching, there is a type of learner that learns BEST by hearing: Auditory Learners.

I learn best by reading (Visual Learner), though, so if I'm really wanting to get the grasp of something (hence: IMPORTANT reading) I will read. But, for pleasure, where I don't need to "learn" the material, give me an audiobook any day--especially because I live in a rural area and have long commute times even for groceries. We also go on long-distance driving trips.

It's no different than listening to the old-time Radio Shows like Mystery Theater, etc.

iVillage Member
Sat, 08-18-2007 - 6:59am

I agree. I work very long, long weeks. My eyes & brain are a little sour and tired by the time I get off of work. I listen to books, while I'm keying at work & processing payments. If my tape player worked in the car I would listen there, too.

Jenny

iVillage Member
Mon, 08-20-2007 - 7:41am
I don't think it's cheating by listening to an audiobook. If you are ever too busy to read, you can listen to it on tape or CD on your way to work or doing things around the house or whatever. I think it's great & convenient!
5yrssm 
iVillage Member
Mon, 08-20-2007 - 8:11am
I don't know if it is cheating...I just can't imagine doing it!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

iVillage Member
Mon, 08-20-2007 - 11:54am

I wouldn't call it cheating, but I do see it as less than reading it for yourself.

iVillage Member
Mon, 08-20-2007 - 2:34pm

In everything, there are folks who feel if you don't do it a certain way, with certain materials, it's not authentic.