Need advice on career move!

iVillage Member
Need advice on career move!
Mon, 09-24-2007 - 4:49pm

Hi everyone,

I am glad that I ran into this board, and really hope to get some sincere advice from you!!

Here is the situation: I am 24 years old, I

iVillage Member
Mon, 09-24-2007 - 6:19pm
i completly understand how you feel. i'm in almost the same boat as you are. i am 23 with a BA in Political Science, and i'm working on my MPA right now.
Photobucket
iVillage Member
Tue, 09-25-2007 - 4:09pm

Hi,

Thanks a lot for your advice, it really was nice to see this from

iVillage Member
Tue, 09-25-2007 - 9:10pm

Hey girl,

As a recent architect grad I can say it was the best thing I did! I debated between being a teacher for too long and went back to grad school when I was 23 to become an architect and it was definitely the right thing to do. But...beware...many other grad programs will offer better benefits and compensation than pursuing an architecture degree. For example, my husband is pursuing his MBA and he gets so much help with networking, opportunities, etc...I feel like in architecture (well, really in the creative fields) you really have to make more of your own path. GL! Don't think about it too hard, go with what will make you happiest long term.

iVillage Member
Wed, 09-26-2007 - 7:15am

Have you gone to your school's counselor and asked to take a career assessment inventory?

iVillage Member
Wed, 09-26-2007 - 8:50am

Hi CynCynch!

Are there any short courses that you could take? I would talk to a counsellor at your university or elsewhere to ask. Please don't forget that there are many different job within the fashion industry, too such as patternmaker, merchandiser, buyer, etc.