Have you ever changed careers?

iVillage Member
Have you ever changed careers?
Mon, 05-04-2009 - 7:24am

I've done quite a few things in my professional life and it looks like a couple of new paths are opening up in the very near future.

Have you been in the same profession throughout your career or have you had a few different jobs? What prompted this change? Had it been scary and stressful for you or did you embrace it fully from the beginning? Was this something good or do you regret the change?

Pages

iVillage Member
Mon, 05-04-2009 - 2:43pm
I started out as a secretary for a stock brokerage firm, then a secretary at an ad agency and worked myself into an assistant copywriter, but the last 20 years of my working life were spent as a legal assistant in a large law firm.

Molly

iVillage Member
Mon, 05-04-2009 - 3:18pm

I have changed once. Well, maybe twice if you count the yar I was an assistant prof at U of F after graduation. But mainly...

I was an environmental consultant/tech writer for an engineering consulting firm for 12.5 years but I burned out big time. So I quit, sent out my resumes, and six months later ended up teaching community college for 6 years before DH got transferred to London and I was "retired" early!

Was it stressful to change? yes. but more stressful to sty in a job I hated. I'm gald I did it and wish I could teach again but in this economy and at my age... no colleges are hiring.

Co-CL for "The Stitcher's Niche" and CL for "Remodel & Renovate"

Visit me at That Yank In... and Traveling with That Yank

Avatar made with Portrait Illustrator Maker

April is National Decorating Month
In these economically challenged times, do you think we need a Repair Manifesto?

CL for "

iVillage Member
Mon, 05-04-2009 - 4:16pm