New Job is Draining me

iVillage Member
New Job is Draining me
Thu, 03-18-2010 - 8:11pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the board and just looking for a place where I can vent! I'm a very positive, patient happy go lucky person...or at least I was until I started this new job a little over a month ago.

I was a student and graduated with my bachelor in december, but I'm so confused about what i'd like to do. So I took the first job that was offered to me, and i'm working with my mother. She's not my boss but she put in a good word for me, and I got the job.

I work with an amazing bunch of people and we all get along great! My only problem is the job itself..the work is so boring, repetitive and I honestly feel like I have nothing to look forward too, It's making me depressed. On top of that I'm sleep deprieved (getting this job meant getting up 3 hours earlier than im used too) but i guess that's life. I spend nearly 2 hrs a day in my car!

I guess this is reality, but I honestly feel bored, unchallenged and very disatisfied. But my situation is a little complicated....you see I wish I could quit, but my mother says that i'm committed to this place now. She said it would make her look bad if I quit, it looks as if, if I do quit she won't talk to me for a long time. I just feel like the whole situation is sticky,

I really don't know what else is out there, I don't know what I see myself doing, and i'm afraid i'll never find something i'm passionate about.

I just feel lost right now, and not at peace with things. I want to find something that will make me satisfied...

I'm usually so upbeat, and positive, and don't get angry about anything...I mean nothing really gets to me.

But all of a sudden since I started working, the smallest thing will make me cry...and I feel like I haven't really laughed in awhile, this bugs me, and I don't know what to do about it.