My environment is suffocating...

iVillage Member
My environment is suffocating...
Sun, 03-21-2010 - 10:48pm

Hello everyone,

I am a 24 year old college student still living at home. I am working on my second degree and just paying off bills before I finally make it out on my own. I have one more year until I graduate.

A few factors of where I live actually made me have panic attacks last year. I live in a suburb outside of a major city. My school is in the major city and I have to commute from 40 mins to an hour depending on traffic to get to school. I've already been through two accidents while on the commute. I have been doing this commute for the past 5 years that I have been going to this school in the city.

Also, the suburb where I live I don't have any friends who I would hang out with here, they are all in the city. I feel very isolated and lonely most of the time when I'm at home so I try and stay out when I'm in the city during the week but when I finally get back home on the weekends to relax I feel stuck. The suburb where I live there is nothing really to do and I have always found it hard to connect with anyone here. I have been living here for 12 years and the friends I did have here already moved away and/or are going to college in other states. I travel a lot to visit but I can't do that all of the time of course.

I have been wanting to move ever since I started college but because of finances I can't. My parents are not planning on moving any time soon either. They also are very protective of me and like to act like I am still a young girl instead of a growing adult.

Last summer I went to a summer camp that was 11 hours away and I met some great people that again live far away from me. I am going to visit them this summer.