In Limbo!

iVillage Member
In Limbo!
Mon, 04-05-2010 - 12:20pm

Hi everyone! So, I recently turned 26 and I find myself to be completely lost in life. I'm at a job I really dislike, I have had the worst luck with men and on top of that my social life suffers because I live at home with my parents and we share a car. I know a lot of my woes have to do with finances because I have a ton of loans I'm still paying back for school and my current job pays pittance especially after we received a paycut last year. I have made a bunch of attempts last year to get a new job and came close to finding one until they backed away because they lost the budget.

The thing is, and please pardon me if I sound egotistical.. I'm really not, I just feel like I have a TON of potential with my career. I'm a skilled designer with a background that ranges from animation to web and I feel as though I can do something great if I could just get my break! In terms of a love life I don't really "look" anymore, but even then I stumble upon the wrong men and again not to sound egotistical I feel as though I'm cute (I get validation when I do get "hit on" when I go out) and I have a good head on my shoulders. But I feel like my life is comprised by a vicious cycle. My job sucks and pays nothing so I can't really afford my own apartment because most of what I make goes toward loans, which in turn I feel like affects my social/love life, which in turn affects my overall state of mind and motivation to do much of anything.

I have tried and will keep trying to find a job.... and I don't want to victimize myself because I am lucky enough to have a job at all in this economy. But what else can I do? :( I'm just a bit sad because I see so many of my friends progressing whether it's career or love and though I try not use them as a measuring stick... it's a bit rough feeling like I'm glued to the floor and everything is just passing by me =( sigh.

iVillage Member
In reply to: charcoal08