My job lowers my esteem

iVillage Member
My job lowers my esteem
Tue, 09-21-2010 - 2:11pm

I know we choose how we digest stuff, but it's so hard not to feel so unappreciated.

I am a contract employee. I started with this company while pg with my 1st child right as the Internet bubble was crashing in my city. I became a webdesigner so I could be a work at home mom. I earned my degree in Communication w/an emphasis on marketing (they did not have any Internet degrees back then, so the university had me create my own graduation course they approved.) Before taking this job I was a supervisor of many web designers & according to the owner, saved the company. (The company I work for now purchased the company I supervised.)

I took this job able to make my own demands as I was wanted & thought as a major asset. Back then I was grossing approx 5K a month.

Now I feel like garbage. I want the work b/c I feel lucky if I now gross $200 a month. Yet, every time I get work I feel worthless & unappreciated. I'm getting jobs expecting me to design an entire site, with a shopping cart for 3 hours.

The problem of it is, as much as an asset I was 9 years ago, I was busy having babies, running a family & dealing with a sick husband. I did not keep up with all the new languages & software. I do not consider myself as a web producer, I'm a designer. I make it look pretty. Yet this company ONLY has me as the designer & producer. I cannot build a site in Flash - nor do I desire too - I find it unstable & not search engine friendly. So if they get a site that wants flash they expect me to do it & then not charge for my novice of the subject.

I look around for jobs in web design but people are looking for kids to take my job who can make just above minimum wage.