Roast it.....

Community Leader
Roast it.....
Tue, 03-02-2010 - 7:55pm

I am a good cook. Except for roasts....

Once in a while one will come out so good but most of the time not...

I put one in the electric frypan this afternoon...I have done this before...for the 2 of us I just don't want to use the big oven and this roast needed more space than the toaster oven....

Anyway I didn't watch it close enough so it got really cooked on one side....lol.....crunchy...the saving part of all this is that when I screw up a roast it makes the best soup....lol....

My DMIL used to cook for men on the farm. She would fix, sometimes 2 huge pork roasts. No matter how she did it the roasts came out so good....but her gravy was to die for. There were times when I wished I could just have mashed taters and her gravy.....or just drink it, it was that good....

With 5 kids gravy wasn't that great here.. I had to make enough to go around so it was always flat tasting....except for my milk gravy......My whole family likes that...

But now a days we have to cut the meat and the gravy and it isn't as much fun. We eat a lot of fresh veggies and frozen ones as far as that goes.....

But we both love tomatoes....and we have a Hydroponic tomato and English cucumbers most of the year and they should be ready about the middle of March....I can't wait.....there are 3 kinds of tomatoes.....the best are the ones you grow yourself or get fresh in the summer and fall.......then comes the hydroponic ones and then at the bottom of the list are store tomatoes.....they are sometimes crunchy.....and have no flavor at all......we only have to put up with that for about 2 months of the year....thank Heaven......

iVillage Member
In reply to: emty_nstr
Tue, 03-02-2010 - 9:45pm

You just need to re-tool.

hunk 'o, hunk 'o burnin' heartburn!

iVillage Member
Tue, 03-02-2010 - 9:52pm

You have so much good stuff going on with your other ingredients, and I love that you have room to do the hydroponics.