100% Durum Wheat Semolina Pasta Vs......

iVillage Member
100% Durum Wheat Semolina Pasta Vs......
Thu, 08-21-2003 - 7:36pm
Hi Everyone:

Newbie here, I'm Teri in Northern California...first time on an iVillage Food Board, but I'm a longtime iVillage book board regular and a cl on the iVillage ABC board (Authors, Books & Conversations).

Here's my question: When buying pasta, I look for "100% duram wheat semolina" on the label (learned that on the Food TV Network, their advice for getting the best tasting pasta). I can really tell a difference in quality now and I always spend more $$$ on the "good stuff".

When the label says "100% semolina" on the label, is that the same quality / same thing as "100% duram wheat semolina"??? What about "100% duram semolina"?

Thanks a million...wow, I'm definitely gonna come back and catch up on some of these yummy posts!

Teri

iVillage Member
Thu, 08-21-2003 - 9:14pm
I have no idea, but I did find the following on a search:

*Pasta means food made from flour, for example spaghetti and macaroni. Duram wheat has a lot of protein and gives a great texture. In Italy there is a law that all the pasta has to be made from duram wheat.

That's all I have. Sorry I couldn't be more help.

Tracy

TracyPalmPoster.jpg picture by cl-daisy526
iVillage Member
Fri, 08-22-2003 - 11:46am
Well, welcome to the board! I have to admit that you've got me on this one too...

Here's what I found:

Semolina is the coarsely ground endosperm of durum, a hard spring wheat with a high-gluten content and golden color. It is hard, granular and resembles sugar. Semolina is usually enriched and is used to make couscous and pasta products such as spaghetti, vermicelli, macaroni and lasagna noodles. Except for some specialty products, breads are seldom made with semolina.

Durum flour is finely ground semolina. It is usually enriched and used to make noodles.

BabyFoot.jpg picture by cl-daisy526

iVillage Member
Sat, 08-23-2003 - 6:27pm
Hi and welcome Teri -