Question about leftover chicken

iVillage Member
Question about leftover chicken
Wed, 12-10-2003 - 4:54pm
I'm still fairly new to cooking...

Last night I baked three large chicken breasts. One was more than enough for my husband and me. I have two left. For tonight's dinner I was considering chicken and dumplings (I was going to ask my husband what his mother does to make them; I know she makes her dumplings with Bisquick; I have Jiffy) or chicken soup. (I have two cans of Campbell's Healthy Request Cream of Chicken.)

In addition to the soup, chicken and Jiffy mix, I also have a package of Inn Maid noodles. (When I found them on sale for $.79 and decided to get them with my $.25 coupon that doubled, I figured I could find a use for them.) I'm thinking I could just boil the noodles and add them to the soup. To make "homemade" soup, I was going to make a can or two according to package directions and add extra milk and chicken. (I do that with the Campbell's Cheese and Broccoli Soup--add extra cheese, broccoli and milk to make it "homemade".)

Anyway, I'm going to move this to tomorrow's dinner. Tonight, my husband is on his own. While playing online this afternoon, I realized that I haven't contacted colleges about admissions for next semester. I saw on one school's site that they're having an open house tonight.

Also, I've already cut up the chicken. I still saved the bones, thinking they might be quite useful if I make complete homemade chicken soup.

Thank you for any help you can give me and for putting up with my venting.

Laura

iVillage Member
Wed, 12-10-2003 - 5:48pm

Hi Laura...Welcome!!

Chicken and dumplings is SUch a comfort food!!

iVillage Member
Wed, 12-10-2003 - 6:11pm

Hi Laura... welcome to Quick & Easy!

BabyFoot.jpg picture by cl-daisy526

iVillage Member
Thu, 12-11-2003 - 9:01am
Thanks!

I figure that somewhere inside this almost idiot-savant cook there's a budding gourmet waiting to emerge....