Tracy (& anyone else...related to pg)

iVillage Member
Tracy (& anyone else...related to pg)
Wed, 02-25-2004 - 12:51pm
Thanks for asking how I am (in the QOTD Tuesday thread)...I'm okay. It was ironic that you asked about my swelling - yesterday I spent the afternoon in Labor & Delivery! I panicked! I have a sinus infection and was put on Zithromax. Since taking it, I had not felt the baby move at all! So I called my dr and her secretary told me to get to L&D right away...she had me hysterical with her telling me how the baby could be in distress, could be a cord accident, etc. As you may know I'm a lawyer for the hospital and I know all of these things (logically I know how rare they are, but when it comes to me and my baby, I'm completely irrational! LOL!). So, I went up to L&D in tears and they had me on monitors and an ultrasound within 10 minutes of my arrival (helps to be the lawyer for these people ;o) Anyways, all was well. We saw the baby moving and his heartbeat was good...still didn't feel anything until later last night when I went to bed though. This morning I didn't feel much either, but now I'm feeling a lot more. He may have just been in a funky position for a while there and plus I haven't been eating as much because I've been sick, but now that I'm starting to feel better I think my appetite is coming back. But boy was I nervous! I have the "luxury" of seeing all of the bad things that can happen to babies and none of the good things, so I tend to be a little more paranoid than normal - a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing! And prior to me calling my doctor, another OB doc called me to inform me of a problem with a patient who did not feel any movement for 4 days and when she finally came in the baby had already died :o( So, of course, I was almost convinced that had happened to me! LOL!