Doubts about Relationship- he's passive about future, finances, etc.

iVillage Member
Doubts about Relationship- he's passive about future, finances, etc.
Sun, 05-06-2012 - 7:34pm

I'm sorry in advance that this is so long.  But here it goes. My boyfriend and I have been together for over three years. We met when he was in his final semester of his graduate program.  When he graduated, he moved back home and  I stayed in our college town for three years, but we stayed together during that time. So the bulk of our relationship has been long distance (but just two hours) while I have been completing school. Last year I graduated from grad school and we moved to my hometown where I had a job offer. We have been living together for about six months up until last week.  As a point of reference, I am 26 and he is 30.  I am his first serious relationship; he is my second.

First off, there are many things I love about him. He is extremely sweet, selfless, always has a friendly demeanor, and not an ounce of temper in him. He is attractive, smart, and we share a goofy sense of humor. My family and friends love him, and that is very important to me. I wouldn't still be with him if I truly did not want to work out our problems. 

Here's the issues: his passiveness with his future and his finances.

For example, it is very hard for him to name any concrete goals for himself. This has been the case since we met. I, on the other hand, am very career driven; know that I want to have a solid career and just not have to worry about money. I don't want to be rich per se ; I just want to manage my money well.