New here. Musically gifted count?

iVillage Member
New here. Musically gifted count?
Tue, 09-25-2012 - 3:01pm

Hi! I have a 5 year old daughter who is musically gifted. Do some of the characteristics and behaviors of the intellectually gifted overlap with one who is musically gifted?

Daughter plays piano, and self-taught by ear mostly. Started lessons a couple of weeks ago and teacher says her ear is incredible -- something many musicians who study all their lives won't have. She can transpose the songs she knows into different keys, and seems to do so first to F sharp. I hardly know what this means, but I know that there is something unique going on here. She can accurately name instruments when she hears them, and has a deep interest in learning cello and violin, too. She cries when she hears certain music, and plays her piano according to whatever emotion she is feeling at the time. She watched Magic School Bus the other day and figured out the theme song on piano right afterward, but not while listening to it. Teacher says she is musically gifted, and I assume so, as well.

ANyway, she definitely has some of the trickier characteristics that seem to go along with intellectual giftedness. She doesn't gel as well with other kindergarten girls, and daydreams a lot, for example. Just wondering if anyone knows whether different types of gifted come with the same type of difficulties. Thanks!

Pages

iVillage Member
Sat, 10-06-2012 - 8:30pm
Oh, that's excellent news, Deborah!
iVillage Member
Sat, 10-06-2012 - 3:52pm