Should you censor your teen's music?

iVillage Member
Should you censor your teen's music?
Thu, 09-27-2012 - 3:45pm

I'd love to get your thoughts on this.  I'm a relative newbie when it comes to the teen world, and while I had views coming into this on what I would or wouldn't allow, I  know from experience that you never say never when it comes to how you parent. 

I just read an opinion piece from the Chicago Tribune, the mom was explaining her reasons behind her decision not to censor her daughter's music choices, here's a link if you want to check it out: http://www.chicagonow.com/music-mom/2012/09/should-you-censor-the-music-your-teenager-listens-to-this-mom-says-no/.  

I agree with her to a point, but unsure if I'm willing to totally let it go.  There are still movies/TV shows that I don't allow my oldest to watch, so why would I have a different viewpoint when it comes to music?  I was taken aback a couple of years ago when I heard some of the songs that my friend's daughter would listen to, they were pretty obscene and went way beyond what P!nk or Katy Perry put out.   Although you have to give some leeway and can't control all their environments, you can at least try to keep it at a minimum.  Am I totally in la-la land with this thinking?

Do you try to censor the type of music that your kids are exposed to?

iVillage Member
Fri, 09-28-2012 - 5:53pm
Thanks for your reply. It is very hard to control what their friends have in terms of video games. I've managed to avoid it so far by not having an Xbox, but I'm sure my son will be getting one in a couple of years (he's only 14 now). I'm sure he's played them over at friends houses, so I do my best like you have to raise them with good values. I'm pretty glad that for the most part his friends come over here, at least I know to some extent what they are doing. Not that you'll ever know it all...and that's not always a bad thing.