I feel so used, is this normal?

Visitor (not verified)
anonymous user
I feel so used, is this normal?
Sun, 09-30-2012 - 1:51am

First off, I hope I am posting this on the right board!

I am quite new to this but what I am feeling well, I just don't understand. I started out late in this 'dating thing'...I am in my early 40s and I am a bit confused.

A little about me...I am, like I said, in my early 40s, never married, no kids, and this is my first time dating - if that's what you call it. My mother passed away at a relatively young age and I had to raise my teenage sister and brother. .. No time for silly things like dating. Well, I am glad to say, everyone is grown up and on their own. Now I guess it's my turn.

To the point: I met a guy, 10 years younger than me, through a friend/co-worker. He has a great personality, very intelligent and has a lot of interesting hobbies. I do want to make clear we never officially dated...more like FWB (that's what my friend calls it) as we just go out to eat, movie and then it's back to his place for a romp in the hay.

However one thing that took me by surprise is that one day I was at his place and and he had told me that he was seeing someone else and was in love and this was going on quite a while -- all the while we were casually seeing each other. So how could he be in love and seeing me?  I knew it was not serious and for me it was just getting me out there...he knew that as well.But why didn't he just tell me 8 months earlier when it all started and he was seriously dating someone, I would have just said my good byes, parted friends and that would have been all.

But now I feel so used. Is this normal?I mean, normal for me to feel used and normal for guys to do this? Is this what I should expect others to do? 

..in case you were wondering, NO I did not lose my virginity to him...I did date when I was in my early 20s but took a long sabatical..

Thanks for listening.

iVillage Member
Sun, 09-30-2012 - 3:27am