What would YOU do?

iVillage Member
What would YOU do?
Sun, 09-30-2012 - 12:10pm

I hope this doesn't get too long and detailed.  I'm not very good at editing sometimes!

I went to a shaker museum in KY yesterday afternoon.  It was a self guided tour.  The young man at the ticket office looked like an even more attractive version of Ryan Gosling, if you can imagine.  When I purchased my ticket, I noticed a violin laying in a seat near his front desk.  I was waiting around for the 5 minute DVD to finish, so I could watch it before I started my tour.  I asked who played the violin.  He said he did, and would play a shaker tune for me later. 

Do you know when you meet someone, and it seems like there's some hint of a connection or attraction there?  It almost feels, I don't know, kind of comical?  To the point where, you kind of want to laugh out loud, but then you start to wonder if this person is simply charismatic and there really isn't a connection, that you're imagining it?  I sat in the room to watch the DVD and I could hear him talking to a customer outside the door.  I waited for a couple of minutes and then thought, well, I'll start the DVD myself, so I did . . . he came in at the end and apologized.  As I was leaving, I told him that I was going to hold him to his offer to play the violin for me.  He said "I'll do it now if you'd like".  So he played, and it was amazing.  Some other people trickled in . . . he played two, very short shaker songs.  I thanked him and went on my tour (other buildings on the property).