1st time runner HEEEELP!!

iVillage Member
1st time runner HEEEELP!!
Wed, 10-03-2012 - 11:33am

Hello ladies!

I'm new to this forum and I'm also new at running. I am loosing weigh very fast so I decide it is time to do exercise to keep it up, but I'm having a lot of issues.:womanfrustrated:

1st " I can't control my breathing" How do I do not to feel like I'm going to die every 5 minutes??? It's really annoying, so If you have any advice PLEASE, let me  now. :womanwink:

2nd. I'm not used to exercise, so I really don't know how many miles I should start with. :smileyindifferent:

3rd I run like 3 miles on sunday and I still can't move my legs because of the pain. I,ve stretched but i guesss it didn't work. :womanlol:

So, ladies, if any of you is interested in helping me, PLEASE, answer this post. 

HAVE A GREAT DAY!!!

P/S   Excuse my english, I'm still learning.

iVillage Member
Thu, 10-04-2012 - 12:24pm
HI and welcome! You might want to post this up in the top thread - not many of us look down here and this is definitely running related! :-)

OK for question 1 - to control your breathing? SLOW. DOWN. A lot. A whole lot. And incorporate walk breaks. You don't need to run straight through. Maybe run (slowly) for 2 minutes and then take a 1 minute walk break. Alternate that until you have run for 30 minutes.

Question 2 - there is no right or wrong answer but looking at question 3, 3 miles is way too much if you are in so much pain. Soreness is normal, but if you cant move your legs, that means it is too much too soon and you could set yourself up for injury. And also right now, don't worry about mileage - go by time like I suggested above. Maybe start with 20 minutes and see how that goes. If 20 is good and you feel fine, then go to 25 minutes. Get a cheap watch and track your time, and don't worry about distance.

3rd question - if it hurts, you're running too much, too hard or too fast. Cut back until you build up your muscles and endurance.