Need some support

iVillage Member
Need some support
Wed, 10-03-2012 - 11:55am

Hello, I just wanted to do a little  venting, so I hope everyone can bear with me...it's just that I'm so very frustrated and depressed about the direction of my job search. I recently graduated from a highly-skilled program 3 months ago but have been seriously looking for work for the past month. I know this seems like a short amount of time, especially in this ecomony, but many of my classmates have already found jobs and I just feel so stagnant. Part of the reason is that I'm a new grad and that's something I can't change. So I barely get offered interviews in the first place and when I do, I then face my biggest problem...I come off as really disconnected in interviews. It may be a combination of nerves and just having a stoic/introverted personality. I end up sounding awkward/unconfident and disinterested as I stumble to keep conversation going. Today I had quite a bad one. It was everything I just mentioned. So basically I'm just depressed by my lack of responses even though I've become obessesive about my job search to the point of exhaustion and also by the string of bad interviews. Thanks for reading. Any advice or supportive words is appreciated.    

iVillage Member
Fri, 11-23-2012 - 8:10pm
You probably got a job by now. All you needed was a week off of interviewing due to stress. Interviewing could be tiresome and monotonous.
iVillage Member
Mon, 10-08-2012 - 2:10pm