New here.

iVillage Member
New here.
Fri, 10-05-2012 - 1:15am

I was 34w 5d when I gave birth to my daughter Aislynn on 9/26. Seven days before I'd been informed that she had grown a rare choroid plexus tumor that took up almost 2/3 of her cranium. We had a week before she passed away to process it all. This is such a rare tumor that there is no research. I'm a nurse and I'd never heard of it, the Pediatric Neuroradiologist had only seen it twice in 10 years of practice. I was mortified.

I'm beside myself but can't lay in bed all day, I have one year old b/g twins that keep me functioning though some days (it's only been a week) are harder than others. You see, she was my first spontaneous pregnancy to make it passed 9 weeks. My twins are IVF miracles after 13 years of trying with two different husbands and 6m/c. This was the worst thing I could ever imagine. I spent 10 years off and on on the TTCYFC board, now I find myself here. I look forward to getting to know you ladies and hopefully we can find some solace together.

~Tonya

iVillage Member
Fri, 10-05-2012 - 12:46pm
Oh no Tonya, I just don't know what to say :smileysad: I was so over the moon happy for you when you got pregnant with her, it just doesn't seem fair at all that this happened. You've been through so much to get her and the twins.

I'm so, so very sorry that you lost baby Aislynn, many (((HUGS))) going out to you and your family. We'll be here for you.

iVillage Member
Fri, 10-05-2012 - 1:02pm

Thank you Melissa, I'm still in shock, no one ever expects it to happen and when it does, it's the worst feeling in the world. I'm scared of getting pregnant again, but I'm not ready to give up yet either. It's just hard because I will be scared every time now, I don't get to enjoy it and I will always be waiting for the other shoe to drop, but I have time to get therapy and I have the time I need to heal, though I hate the waiting.

iVillage Member
Thu, 10-18-2012 - 7:59pm

Hello Tonya,