cloth diapering

Visitor (not verified)
anonymous user
cloth diapering
Sat, 10-06-2012 - 4:53pm

Hi Ladies!

I am not a TOK mom (hopefully someday though!) but I do have a question that I think your group would be best able to help me with. I have 2 very young children. My son just turned 2 in August and I have a 5 month olddaughter. My DH works and I am a SAHM. We try to be very money conscious but with costs of everything going up, we are definitely feeling the pinch. I want to start cloth diapering because 2 kids worth of diapers, even the walmart brand we use, isnt that cheap. My question is, how do I go about this, what is a good place to get them, how many do I need, etc. I am a COMPLETE newbie, so absolutely any help you can give me is a step forward for me. LOL

Thanks so much in advance!

Autumn

iVillage Member
In reply to:
Fri, 10-12-2012 - 10:52am
Oh, cloth diapering is fun! I didn't CD at all until youngest DD came along. The upfront cost is going to be big, so be prepared for that. There are so many ways you can go with cloth, so I would suggest you buy a sampler and then decide what works best for you and your kids. I don't know what's "popular" anymore because my youngest is 4, but Blueberries, BumGenius, and Swaddlebees were my favorites. I also really liked to use bamboo prefolds with a Thirsties cover. Prefolds will absorb the liquid, the covers are waterproof so they prevent leaks. The all-in-one diapers (Blueberries, BG, Swadlebees) are the diaper and cover all in one diaper. Diaperswappers.com is a really good resource, and they do allow members to post sale/trades offers. It was a great way to try new CDs without paying a lot of money.