BH Contractions?

Visitor (not verified)
anonymous user
BH Contractions?
Wed, 10-10-2012 - 10:16pm

IV is being wonky and not letting me sign in......this is Anna BTW.

So I've started having a lot of these.  I think they are minor, they don't get painful or anything, but sometimes they go on for the whole day.  I am concerned because I'm 19 weeks and I don't know if there is anything underlying that is causing them?

I'm not experienced with BH, I didn't have them with the last two.  

My appointment is next week, so I will ask the MW then.  What should I ask or expect?  I'm not due for an exam, but would she want to check my cervix?  I am resting and drinking lots of water when it happens.  I guess I just nervous.

TIA for your help :smileyhappy:

Anna

iVillage Member
In reply to:
Thu, 10-11-2012 - 8:17am

I really don't have any experience with this. But I would think that she would want to check your cervix, since you're having them so frequently, just to make sure that its still high and that the os is stilled closed. Last time, when I told my dr that I was feeling crampy, he told me to do just what you have said you done, water and rest. Hope you feel better. Let us know how it goes.

iVillage Member
In reply to:
Thu, 10-11-2012 - 3:01pm

Your dr. will definitely tell you to drink water and rest, preferably laying down on your side.  I have been having constant BH contractions since 14 weeks and it's been very hard.  The doctor has been checking my cervical length via u/s every two weeks, but now every week due to shortening.  The only real accurate way to check the length of your cervix is by a vaginal u/s.  The tech will also be able to make sure your cervix is not funneling and is closed.