husband is a functioning alcoholic

iVillage Member
husband is a functioning alcoholic
Thu, 10-11-2012 - 11:29am

I have no one to talk to about this, so I'm throwing it out there into the world wide web in hopes it will help me sort things out in my brain. My husband and I have known each other for 20 years. We married three years ago. At that time I was a single parent in professional school. My child's father was very abusive and I was"broken" in the relationship department. I wanted nothing to do with being in a relationship ever again. I reunited with my husband after several years of not seeing or speaking with one another. He is so kind and caring. He is a fantastic parent to my child and someone I could picture myself having more children with in the future. We did not live together until shortly before we got married, after dating for 3 years. We would see each other on the weekends, and he would only spend the night when my ex had parenting time.