Thinking about trying to plant flowers..

iVillage Member
Thinking about trying to plant flowers..
Thu, 03-27-2003 - 8:16pm
Hi. My name is Heather and I live in the southeast. I am thinking about trying my hand at flowers or plants outdoors. We live in a condo so I don't have a very big front porch. Maybe enough room for a couple of planters. My kitchen window is also on the front of the house as well so a window box wouldn't be too bad either. The front of my house faces north.

Here's my dilemma...I have a 20mo. old and a dog who I don't want playing with or eating my flowers. Keep in mind I've never done this before and don't know anything about flowers..lol. But are there any flowers that really don't attract bees, etc. or would I be safer with plants? My house just looks so plain compared to some of the others. My DH and I both work so we definitely need something that's low maintenance.

Thanks for your help.

Heather

iVillage Member
Fri, 03-28-2003 - 7:19am
Hi Heather! Welcome to the board. Hopefully others will chime in - particularly those in the south. Personally - I have a recommendation or two for your potential north-facing window boxes. They will be up out of reach of your dogs and kids - so you should be safe enough there. Impatiens will like a north-facing windowbox - and wont attract bees as much. You could mix those in with some coleus - which is a beautiful plant with multi-colored leaves - choose whichever colors you like. For your containers - which I assume will be within reach of your kids and dogs - you may want to consider edible plants. Provided your north-facing deck gets a few hours of sun - you may be ok with chives, thyme, basil, sage, oregano. If it's not very sunny - you are going to find it harder to use edibles. Some edible blooming plants that like quite a lot of sun, are cosmos, calendula, nasturtium. Is there any chance you can hang potted plants from your roof?

~ S n o w ~

~*Snow*~

iVillage Member
Fri, 03-28-2003 - 8:07am