Gardening in barrels & flower boxes

iVillage Member
Gardening in barrels & flower boxes
Fri, 04-04-2003 - 1:50pm
Hi :o) I would like to plant flowers in wooden barrels and flower boxes on my front porch this spring. I am completely new to gardening and would like to start out with something that doesn't need a lot of "babying" because I have a 15 month old and 3 stepkids. Needless to say, I am VERY busy and don't have a lot of time to care for flowers. Any suggestions for flowers that will be pretty to look at, but won't need too much care? (I live in PA-if that is necessary to know to make suggestions). Thanks so much!!!! Lisa
iVillage Member
Sat, 04-05-2003 - 7:38am
Welcome again Lisa! Good question, gets a real fancy answer...The best way to get plants to take off in barrels is to start at the bottom of the barrel with a layer of gravel stone, followed by (cheaters method, for less work, great results) High quality planting mixes, either pre mixed top soil or potting soil that can be purchased in the bag, simply emptied into the pot, and planted with any assortment of plants. Fill the barrel to within 6 inches of the top with the soil, then fill it in with a mixture of a few varieties of plants....some tall in the middle...(maximum of two tall per barrel), going toward the sides and going shorter as well, followed by a colorful vine to fall over the side in one or two areas. Fill the area with as many 4 inch potted plants as possible, then work some more of the soil mixture from the bag around the root areas, making sure to (((NOT))) cover the plants any higher than the soil they came with.