Okay, totally clueless here...Help!

iVillage Member
Okay, totally clueless here...Help!
Sun, 04-06-2003 - 10:33pm
I am completely new to gardening. Always wanted to be able to grow things, just never had the time to learn how. I have NO idea what to plant, how to go about making sure I follow the right steps, etc. I'm a SAHM, with a hubby heading overseas real soon, so I figure picking up a new hobby and getting out of the house all at the same time would be good for me right now. I need to stay busy so that I don't spend every waking minute worrying about him.

Anyway, I'd like to start with something small, a simple bed of flowers outside our quarters (we live in on-post military housing, BTW). A couple of bushes nearby, MAYBE. But definitely the flowers. Considering that we're military and probably won't be living here past next year, I think annuals would be best. But what kind of plants should I pick, considering I need something hardy, that can handle lots of sunlight during the day, and will maintain color throughout the spring and summer? And how should I prepare the bed? Advice?

Blade

Photobucket
iVillage Member
Mon, 04-07-2003 - 7:56am
Please give us the state and it's area you live in, otherwise we have to go on assumption.

So, with that in mind, assuming that your area is close to or past the last "normal" frost/freeze date: Start out by determining if your soil is sandy in nature, or dark, rich looking soil, or of a clay nature.

After determining that, and that you will have time to work in some nutrients into it, you will need a (mixture) of one tenth to one third sand....the more sandy your soil is already, the less you need, maybe even none added, but if the soil is clay, then you will need to add nearly one third sand to it to break it up and get good drainage.