I'm a newbie and need help...

iVillage Member
I'm a newbie and need help...
Mon, 04-07-2003 - 6:40pm
Hi all,

I am new to your board, I spend most of my time on the Infertility info and support board and was wondering if there was one here for gardening...

I want a garden. I am 32 years old (live in Southern California) and have NEVER had one. I have a small area (5 feet wide by about 30 feet long), on one side of my house that I can use, but it only gets sun until about 1 or 2 in the afternoon. (SE corner) My DH will put in sprinklers for me, I just don't know how to plant things. Yes, really! I want tomatoes and will buy plants, I also want beans, peas, carrots, onions, beets and strawberrys. Can these co-exist peacefully? If I buy tomatoe and strawberry plants, can the rest be grown from seeds? Do I plant the seeds in a row and need string or something for them to grow on? I told you, I know nothing! I spent this weekend pulling weeds and hoeing the ground, and want to get started, but I don't know what to do. Maybe one of you can give me some pointers or direct me to a link or something.

Any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Dawn

~Dawn

stress4-1.jpg picture by bunzer2003

iVillage Member
Tue, 04-08-2003 - 8:14am
Welcome Dawn. Thank you for giving me so much information to start out with. Here's the skinny....your next task is to take three samples, from different areas of course of the soil to your local nursery....you can call ahead to find out if they offer the service...and have that soil tested for nutrient needs....

<<<<<>>>>>> a basic soil recipe that will work for nearly every gardening situation, including yours is below, and is your next step.

One part top soil

One part organic matter (Organic matter is leaf mold, compost, aged saw dust, shucks, even fresh vegetable matter will work, but would be my last resort) You can purchase sterilized cow manure even from stores like wal mart, lowes, and such for organic material)

One part peat moss