New here lots of questions to follow

iVillage Member
New here lots of questions to follow
Tue, 03-11-2008 - 3:33pm

Hi everyone I am Marcy I am new to the garden board but not to ivillage.

I am a married

Marcy

Mom to

Sal 11/29/01

Jojo 4/18/03

pregnancy calendar

Pages

iVillage Member
Tue, 03-11-2008 - 4:57pm

Hi Marcy! Perennials are usually best transplanted when they're dormant...not in the growing, flowering, or fruiting stage. Cool weather is best for transplanting, that way hot sun doesn't stress them out.

I think the last frost dates for zone 6 range from March 30 to April 30.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com http://medicaltranscriptionforyou.blogspot.com/ http://gardeningontherun.blogspot.com/
iVillage Member
Wed, 03-12-2008 - 9:17am

Welcome to the board Marcy

MargeHorsesSiggy2010.jpg picture by Sky_horse
iVillage Member
Wed, 03-12-2008 - 9:19am

Thanks for the transplanting advice...can ya tell I am really aching for spring here.

Thanks for the welcomes too!

Marcy

Mom to

Sal 11/29/01

Jojo 4/18/03

Marcy

Mom to

Sal 11/29/01

Jojo 4/18/03

pregnancy calendar

iVillage Member
Wed, 03-12-2008 - 9:31am

The only thing I've ever transplanted like that was a bunch of daffodils late last Spring when we moved here, they're coming up now so I guess all will be okay LoL!

MargeHorsesSiggy2010.jpg picture by Sky_horse
iVillage Member
Thu, 03-13-2008 - 11:50am

Hi Marge! I love the sounds of your ivy growing up the mailbox post, that sounds just lovely. Congratz on the daffodils! I seriously need to get out into the yard but it's s'posed to snow this weekend (crying)

Take care,

Photobucket
iVillage Member
Thu, 03-13-2008 - 11:53am

Welcome here Marcy :) Great question and I don't have anything to add in the way of advice but I like the comments that everyone else posted - I have

Photobucket
iVillage Member
Mon, 03-17-2008 - 8:09pm

Hey Marcy!

Glad to see you on on this board too! :)