Kitchen countertop help needed

iVillage Member
Kitchen countertop help needed
Mon, 06-28-2010 - 4:01pm

Hello, this is my first time on this board.

Our kitchen has a huge, beautiful granite island with mostly gray in it but also quite a bit of black and brown. The other countertop is a very old piece of beige Corian and we are ready to replace it. We just bought the house a year ago. The problem is figuring out what to replace it with. We know we want to use granite. The decorating center person gave us two samples of granite that coordinate well with the island; one is mainly brown with some black and gray in it, and the other is mainly gray with some brown and black in it. The pattern is small compared to the large swirls, etc. in the island.

The problem is, I don't know if either of these is the right choice. Neither one matches exactly, yet they are very close. My thinking is if it's not exact but close, it may not look right - maybe it would be better to do something completely different. My neighbor suggested doing solid black granite, but my husband doesn't like that idea because he thinks it will be too dark (the room has dark brown cabinets, "mustard" colored (tuscan look) walls, and stainless appliances, and not a lot of natural light. Also, the black granite we saw was more expensive, although we didn't consider granite tile (something I just thought of today).

I guess my main concern is this: if we choose a granite that is very similar, yet not exact, to the island, are we making a mistake?

Thanks for any comments/suggestions!

Pages

iVillage Member
Thu, 07-01-2010 - 1:18pm

Fantastic! Congratulations on sticking to your guns (I LOVE that yellow and the Tuscan/country European look) - it is your kitchen, after all!

Looking forward to seeing pictures!

CL for

iVillage Member
Thu, 07-01-2010 - 12:19pm