Question from a Complete Newbie

iVillage Member
Question from a Complete Newbie
Sun, 10-09-2005 - 2:33pm
Hello everyone! I have never knit in my life but have always wanted to learn. I'm in the process of checking out some classes where I live, but was wondering if anyone knew any books or internet sites or anything else that would be helpful to start. I don't know anything about knitting, and found out about this board from Heather so I thought I would check it out. And this is probably a dumb question, but I honestly don't know the difference between knitting and crocheting. What is the difference? Thank you!!

Photobucket
iVillage Member
Sun, 10-09-2005 - 2:57pm

Welcome to the board!!! Here are a couple of sites that I know of that could be helpful.

www.lionbrand.com (they have a learn to knit section)

www.knittinghelp.com (one of hte best I think)

www.stitchguide.com (another really good one)

Photobucket
iVillage Member
Sun, 10-09-2005 - 3:09pm

Hey Lacy!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

iVillage Member
Sun, 10-09-2005 - 4:34pm

Hi there,

There are some great books out there, but I reccommend you start with one of the best for kids. When people write for kids they are very clear and consise, including the illustrations. Try the book, "Kids Knitting" by Melanie Falick. It's available in paperback for $12.95 from Artisan Publishers out of NY. She has some basics projects that get you through the first stitches you will need to learn to knit and you end up with something that you can be proud of very quickly. (can you tell I'm a school librarian? Kids books are my passion and this one is a good one, I even bought my daughter a copy.)