Adoption?

iVillage Member
Adoption?
Sun, 02-19-2006 - 1:23pm
Has anyone on this board ever adopted a child?

All my best,
Danni

Pages

iVillage Member
In reply to: cl_phocid
Sun, 02-19-2006 - 3:22pm

I have no personal experience in adopting - but I've done loans, as a loan officer, for people to pay for adoption fees.

iVillage Member
Sun, 02-19-2006 - 3:22pm
I don't have experience in this area but there is a board on a different forum I frequent that is all about adoption. It's got a smallish membership so you get lots of good concentrated information (feels really community-ish too). PM (send an email) me if you want the link. I know the ladies there addressed this issue before.

cl-tiffany10605

Got debt questions? We got answers.

Debt Q&A

cl-tiffany10605

Community Leader
Mon, 02-20-2006 - 4:43am

Yes indeed, but I would not recommend going into debt. No way. Um mmmm. I disagree with going into debt. Starting off indebted is just going to further add to the stress of becoming a parent. Find out what the cost will be to adopt and then add to that all the money just to bring home a baby, then the first year cost to feed, cloth, provide all health care (check-ups, immunizations, etc. and pray there is not a major illness that will tilt a budget) for the first year and that will give you a target amount to save for. But to sink into debt in order to adopt is not something I recommend.

Carolyn

iVillage Member
Mon, 02-20-2006 - 8:39pm
Tiffany - thanks for the link and the email.

All my best,
Danni

iVillage Member
Mon, 02-20-2006 - 10:35pm

We couldn't have kids and never adopted because we frankly didn't have that kind of money. Most places we talked to didn't allow you to have debts...well not alot, and they also demanded that you have at least $10,000 in a bank account to cover the cost of raising the child for the first year. Catholic charities wanted the mom to take off for the first year to provide a stable home for the kid.