Getting to know you...

iVillage Member
Registered: 04-16-2003
Getting to know you...
27
Fri, 04-25-2003 - 12:14pm
Just thought it might be nice to do some sort of introduction thing...I'll go first.

I'm 28, divorced, and a single mom to a great 10 yr old girl. I am currently in debt about $12-15K, not including college loans (thank GOD for deferments)! I live in Greenville, MI and work full time as a Sales Support Associate for a nationwide insurance company. I like music, movies, reading, the outdoors, volunteer work and more...

NEXT?

Pages

Avatar for jajaadetton
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-29-2003
Mon, 04-28-2003 - 10:03am
Cool on the Denverite. I was one too for 22 years but now we live in Illinois. I am Andi(32), married 13 years to hubby Jeff(34) and have 3 great kids Jessi(almost 12), Allen (8 on Friday), and Baby Arielle (Just turned 1 last week) We have a $83,000 mortgage, $11,000 car and sig loans, and $4700 in bad debt that will be paid off by December. Sig adn car loan will be paid next year after we sell our house and move to Omaha, Nebraska (YUK!!). hubby's job is getting transferred. I am a SAHM and cant' wait to get out of debt so we can live it up. Been frugal living for 3 years and I want to buy something I want again, not stuff I need.

Happy Monday!!!

Andi D.

Avatar for akirez
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-26-2003
Mon, 04-28-2003 - 10:46am
I'm 29, married to DH (also 29) for just less than a year. We live in Northern VA just across the Potomac from DC. We still have our money separate mainly because I have a lot of debt and he doesn't make much, but we split our expenses. I have about $14K in cc debt, $11K in car loan and about $44K in student loans. I will have the cc debt paid off by December of next year, according to my schedule, at which time I will throw those payments toward my car loan getting it paid off over two years earlier than the terms. I refinanced it last fall, but with my snowballing payments I'll be able to have it paid off only 6 months after the original loan was supposed to end. I recently consolidated my student loans too and have really good terms! I have been in debt since starting grad. school 7 years ago. I managed to make it through college without a penny of debt, but then I went crazy when I had my own apartment and lived in the city, where I attended grad. school. It's been a struggle for me since starting to accumulate this debt, but I finally feel that I have it under control now. I'm actually glad that I've had to struggle since I will remember it and never be in this kind of debt again...except for a mortgage, but that's different! DH and I hope to have a house by this time next year and that has been my impetus for change in my financial life!
Avatar for phoenixmama
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-20-2003
Mon, 04-28-2003 - 10:47am
I'm 25 and also in MI, never married mom to 3-y-o DS, $5400 in CC and car loan. In the process of getting seriously organized and changing old habits - I'll never be free of debt if I don't change my bad spending habits. I'm not ready to start thinking about my student loans yet LOL, they are supplementing my income while I cut back my hours at work to go to school full time. Hoping to have my degree in hand April 04 and if all goes well, finishing off the debt around that time too. I don't have much time for hobbies, but I did invest in a nice jogger stroller and (dare I say it?) I'm "in training" for my first 5k, I'll be running in the "Race for the Cure" on June 21. So that gives me about a month and a half to get my lazy booty in shape! =)
Avatar for marchand7
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-26-2003
Mon, 04-28-2003 - 12:30pm
Hello-- I am a lurker and thought that I would finally introduce myself. I am Katie (24) married to Eric (25) for almost a year. We have 50,000 in student loan debt, $8000 in car loans, and some credit card debt. We have all the other regular bills each month. I think you ladies are great and have used alot of your advice given to others. We have 2 boxer dogs and two cats. For fun we show one of our dogs. KATIE

iVillage Member
Registered: 03-27-2003
Tue, 04-29-2003 - 11:05am
This was such a nice idea. I enjoyed each and every post. What a great group

of people.

I have been married for over 16yrs. Have three beautiful children. Their

greatest treasure is the huge hearts and are giving loving children. I've

been truely blessed! I'm a sahm, love to read, go for walks, enjoy the

special friendships I have.

Thanks for letting me be part of this great board! Marie
iVillage Member
Registered: 03-31-2003
Tue, 04-29-2003 - 2:27pm
Hi, I enjoy this board I have learned a lot and still learning. I am 28 mom of 3yr old boy (he'll be 4 tomorrow!) a two year old girl and 5mos. pregnant with another boy. My SO and I have been together for 13yrs. We live in Tampa, FL originally from CT. I have made a lot of financial mistakes and I am trying to stop the madness. I try to read as many posts as I can to learn from all you guys and recently started reading financial books.

Brenda

iVillage Member
Registered: 04-09-2003
Tue, 04-29-2003 - 3:39pm
This was a good idea--I've enjoyed reading all of these.

As for me, I'm 31 and single, although my wonderful and fiscally-responsible boyfriend has been living with me for a month. He's really the one who encouraged me to get a grip on the money. We share our house with a very opinionated wire-fox terrier named Asta.

I have a mortgage and car payments, but I really consider those necessities (I live in the country--no mass transit!). The biggest knock against me is the 18K in CC debt that I ran up when I was young and stupid. I've put myself on a fairly strict budget, and according to a debt payoff calculator I found online, I should have that paid off, if I stick to my repayment plan, in just under 3 years, which is far less than I would have ever dreamed. It seems like a long way off now, but it will be SO worth it.

Pages