student loans

iVillage Member
student loans
Thu, 05-15-2003 - 12:00am
I graduated from college several years ago but I am still in debt due to my student loans. I was totally unprepared for the responsibilty when I graduated. My loans have added up and I feel as though I'm drowning. To top it all off, my husband has loans too.

Does anyone have any advice on how to get out of this debt? Where do we start?
iVillage Member
In reply to: rudygirl
Thu, 05-15-2003 - 4:18am
This sounds like an advertisement, but it's really just advice from my own experience with my student loans. Been there, done that, still doing that. I feel like I've learned to work the system (legally) 7 ways to Sunday. I have $6,500 to go, then I'm free!

1) If you haven't done so already, consolidate your loans. Call up Sallie Mae and do it ASAP while interest rates are low. They have about 4 different repayment plans, so you can pick one that fits your budget.

2) Laws have changed recently - used to be you could only get 60 mos. of forebearance or deferrments (total, 12 mos at a time) if you run into trouble making payments. Not so anymore - now the time is unlimited (thank you Mr. Clinton). All it takes is filling out a form that states why you can't make payments, fax it in, and *presto* you can breathe easy for a year. Remember, though, your interest continues to accrue during this time. You have the option of paying the interest every quarter (good idea) during forebearance, or capitalizing it back into the loan if you must (bad idea).

3) Remember that student loan interest is 100% tax deductible. Again, new laws (Clinton, again). Used to be you could only deduct it during the first 60 mos. of repayment. Not so anymore. Now student loan interest is deductible for as long as you are paying on the loan. As long as it takes.