I have a question...

iVillage Member
I have a question...
Wed, 06-04-2003 - 3:50pm
hello all. i have to admit, the only debt i have is my house and that is more or less 'acceptable' debt. however, i read this board a lot because people seem to have done a good job of learning from past mistakes and they are pretty responsible today and hopefully will be in the future. so what i would like to do is tell you a little about myself and then ask my question, and see if you have any 'advice.'

i am female and will be 33 next week. never been married, no kids but one dog (who can get expensive!). i own my house and have two cars: honda accord and bmw convertible (both paid off). i have a master's degree and i work in public relations, which is a job i enjoy but certainly is not the greatest-paying job. right now with bonus i earn about $45k a year.

i guess my biggest financial question is, how do i enjoy today and still save for the future? i mean, in the present, i want to be able to go out to dinner if i want to. want to get a cup of Starbucks if i want to. want to keep buying Propel water if i want to. want to take a modest vacation every so often if i want to. i'm not trying to be extravigant.