New Here

iVillage Member
New Here
Tue, 07-01-2003 - 9:50pm
Hi,

Well..I'm new here. I promised a good friend of mine today that I was going to get my finances under control and I mean it. I've been playing this game for too many years now and I'm only 26. Funny huh? I feel like I've been playing the debt game forever and I'm still pretty young. Anyway...I made a list of everything I owe today. I've started calling creditors to let them know that I'm interested in making payments, just having a hard time making ends meet and trying to see what we can work out. I've been unemployed for 4 months. Everytime I start to get close to getting all my debts paid off it seems like something like a job loss hits.

Thankfully, I've got another job. It's just going to take a while until I get paid. I will be teaching school this Fall. I'm excited about that. However, it means a move (expensive) and I don't get paid until September (I think) or it may be October. I can't remember when they said the first check came out (Sept or Oct). At anyrate...I know I can do this, I just have to keep plugging away.

The experience that I had this evening calling people was good. Hopefully tomorrow will be just as good. This is do-able, it's just going to take time.

I get so frustrated sometimes that I just wish all of this stuff would go away? Surely some of you can relate to that feeling.

But I'm here, facing it. And oddly enough after those first two phone calls it was liberating. I know my friend is right. It's time for me to handle this stuff on my own...stop expecting to be bailed out by others when my finances mess up.

It's going to take time and effort but it is do-able. I just wanted to say hi and kind of introduce myself.

Betty

iVillage Member
In reply to: elizvaughn
Wed, 07-02-2003 - 12:10am