The psychological side of a BR

iVillage Member
The psychological side of a BR
Sat, 12-13-2008 - 9:03pm

I'm new to iVillage and this message board. I've come to terms with the fact that I need a BR. First off, I'd like to thank everyone on here for all of the posts. I've found a lot of great information. My question, though, is about the psychological aspect of the process. A great deal of the posts talk about the physical problems pre and post Op, which are great! I am just wondering if anyone can give me any guidance on the psychological problems experienced with having huge breasts and how they have felt after surgery.

My story in a nutshell: 25 y/o, 5'9, 38H, athletic build. I've had these huge boobs since high school. They pretty much run my life (well, dating and socially--I hate going places because I cant find cute things to wear, I feel like everyone is staring at me, etc). I've never felt like a guy has wanted me for me...that they are really just dating my boobs. So, what is really holding me back from taking the first step (scheduling a consult) is "who am I going to be without these things?" I don't plan on going down to a really small size, probably a D, but like I said, I don't know what it feels like to be seen as anything other than boobs with legs. Dont get me wrong, I am well respected at work and I KNOW what I am and what I am capable of. I'm just having a hard time battling who I am now and how I will feel post-op. I've made a pro/con list and the pros greatly outweigh the cons. Another one of my concerns is...I dont have any really horrible physical pain (YET) which I am thankful for. I guess this is mostly because I try to keep in shape and resistance train. I guess I'm nervous about whether or not my insurance will approve me since I'm not having terribly severe physical pain. Has anyone had similar problems? Do insurance companies typically take psychological stress into consideration when allowing or denying coverage for a BR?